Reminiscing Over Good Coffee at Libro

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image

I was suddenly reminded of my college life back almost 2 decades ago, I used to hang out and read books in a local coffee shop that served good coffee, bread, cakes, and some desserts. It was under an old house in the middle of downtown Tacloban City. I was wondering if it's still operating or has it been wrecked by the super typhoon Haiyan last 2013. I've never heard about them since. I checked Google and I was surprised to see recent pictures that look so familiar, it's as if nothing has changed.

libro.jpg

I went there and to my surprise, it was still the same old place I see. I got curious if the interior would still be the same and if they still serve the same good coffee, I especially love their coffee.

libro1.jpg

It's the same metal, "Libro" sign on the wall. It's now rusty because of its old age.

door.jpg

I got excited as I draw in, the door is that same old door. You can tell by how it looks that it's really been there for a while now.

COFFEE.jpg

I was greeted by this sign in the center pillar inside the cafe. Indeed, coffee is always a good idea.

menu.jpg

I went to check their menu. I'm glad their coffee is still affordable like they used to. There'd been a lot of cafes that opened in the area after the devastation of that super typhoon last 2013, I guess the competition made them have competitive pricing.

mocha.jpg

I ordered an iced mocha and a Filipino cheesy bread called ensaymada. The bread smelled so good. It has been warmed up using a microwave and it was steaming and have that cheesy aroma. I like my coffee iced, that's my preference. I want my milk warm, and for water, I prefer room temperature. I just think iced coffee is refreshing and we usually drink to refresh ourselves that's why I want my coffee iced.

tall.jpg

I was not expecting I'd be given this tall glass of coffee. Their Iced Mocha is just 120 Pesos, 30 Pesos lower than other cafes in the area. It's creamy and well blended, it's really well done and I love how it tastes, not too sweet. It was perfect.

tall1.jpg

The ensaymada was perfect as well, too lovely with all the cheese. I was gonna go for a piece of cake but their cakes are best sellers and I came in late in the afternoon when they are all gone. Nevertheless, I am still lucky with this ensaymada. It was so soft, aromatic and really tasted so cheesy, it wasn't too sweet, too, which I like.

book.jpg

I grabbed a book on the nearest shelf and now I am all set to dreamland and reminisce the old days, how it was spending the afternoons in this place. This place is a bookstore and a library at the same time. You can read the books for FREE and you can also buy most of them if you want to. I picked a funny book called The Little Book of Stupid Questions.

quote.jpg

The book was indeed about the author's funny stupid questions about just anything and some popular quotes on stupidity and being stupid. I found a good quote in the book by Doctor Who.

shelf.jpg

shelf1.jpg

shelf2.jpg

shelf3.jpg

shelf4.jpg

I was surrounded by shelves. I love how rustic-themed the place is. It used to be like this and it is still the way it is now after so many years. The past really plays in my mind as my eyes wander across the room.

chair.jpg

chair1.jpg

chair2.jpg

chair3.jpg

chair4.jpg

chair5.jpg

chairs6.jpg

There were more chairs and tables for more guests. This place is not only a good place to have good coffee, but it is also a good place to hang out with friends and meet new people.

counter.jpg

Here's their small counter on the south side next to the only door, the entrance.

counter1.jpg

Their counter's cookie jars and selection of branded teas.

counter2.jpg

Ceramic cups as decors on the side of the counter.

paint.jpg

This was a painting of a cup of coffee, it was next to me on one of the shelves.

I was so happy I decided to look for this place, this is like one of those places that marked in my heart and I want this to be experienced by many. I love this place because it gives you peace in the middle of a busy city. You can hang out and meet like-minded people in here. It might be boring for some but for introverts like me this is a sanctuary and being able to order good coffee here just adds to the pure bliss that the place brings.


Restaurant Information


Libro Books and Coffee Shop
score
Downtown, Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines


Reminiscing Over Good Coffee at Libro
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Coffee Break ☕️


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Thank you so much !COFFEEA token for you!

coffeea Lucky you @feelsogood.cur here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Coffee Break ☕️> Contest . Thanks to @mermaidvampire, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77