Best Budget Breakfast at Goto Bevs

in #tasteem4 years ago (edited)

title_image


I was out so early in the morning because I had dialysis session in the hospital last night. After sessions, I usually crave for a heavy meal because dialysis makes me hungry and craving for water and sugar, two of the things that's excessively taken from my system during my session. I was thinking of having breakfast in a fastfood restaurant like I do often but today, I decided to go to somewhere where I can have traditional Filipino breakfast.

goto.jpg

I went to Goto Bev's. This place is one of the oldest name in our local restaurant directory here in Tacloban City. This restaurant is loved by many, mostly by college students because of their budget meals and they are operational 24/7.

goto1.jpg

Even if it's early in the morning of a Sunday, the place is still busy and full of customers. What do I expect? It was a Saturday night. People were out partying and having fun all night. They deserve a warm meal before they go home.

goto4.jpg

Another thing that makes this place busy is because it's in an area where a lot of hotels, hostels, boarding houses and apartments are located.

goto2.jpg

Here's their menu board. They have very few items that's why they serve everything in a breeze, like that of fastfood restaurants. On the left side of the board are the silog meals and on the right are different kinds of lugaw/congee or Filipino porridge. Silogs are Filipino combo breakfast of fried rice + Egg then a choice for a viand either fish, chicken, pork, beef or any of those usual processed food items that's commonly served for breakfast here like corned beef, hotdog, tapa (Filipino beef jerky) and such. The meals have playful names like Tap-Si-Log, which means TAP for tapa (beef jerky ), SI for sinangag (fried rice) and LOG for itlog which means egg in Filipino. Other names are hotsilog which means hotdog-sinangag and itlog, cornedsilog for corned beef-sinangag and itlog, and many more. These items in the menu are available the whole day.

bf.jpg

I ordered BANGSILOG, which means bangus-sinangag and itlog. Bangus is our national fish, we have a lot of it here, it's a milkfish. It is served as a fried fish along with a sunny side up egg and that cup of fried rice on the side. I also ordered goto or congee. Looks like a lot but let me explain why I have 2 sets of food here.

congee.jpg

A Filipino breakfast is usually 2 parts. First part is when you warm up your tummy with some hot drink with bread or anything warm like a bowl of hot chocolate porridge or a bowl congee. The first part usually happens around the moment we wake up so early in the morning. The second part happens a little later around 7am or beyond and it's a heavy kind of meal usually with rice as a staple in it.

goto5.jpg

There's egg in the bangsilog and there's egg in the congee. That's 2 eggs for me today in this breakfast, which is alright because as a dialysis patient, egg white is part of my diet. I need albumin, which is abundant in egg whites. I'll have to leave the yolk because that's way too much cholesterol.

bf1.jpg

They also served me with a bowl of free hot beef soup, a pitcher of water, lemon and chilis along with the condiments. I finished the meal in an hour, I had a good time eating and scrolling my social media accounts. I skipped having milk or coffee this morning because I had the warm congee to warm me up. The bangsilog was 50 Pesos which is almost a dollar ($1 = 52 Pesos) and the congee was 35 Pesos, a total of 87 Pesos. When we say budget breakfast, that's definitely this, it's not even $2. The taste and the service of the place were so worth it.

goto3.jpg

Before I left, I bought a small bottle of softdrinks (Sprite) for that added sugar to give me more energy today. I have lots of things in my todo list this Sunday.

I am glad we have Goto Bev's in our city. It's nice to have an affordable restaurant operational 24/7 that serves Filipino comfort food the whole day. It's accessible because it's at the heart of the city. The staff are quick and their service is superb and you would really feel at home. I would recommend this place to locals and even visitors in the city. It's something we all can be proud of in our city.


Restaurant Information


Goto Bev's
score
51 Juan Luna St, Downtown, Tacloban City, 6500 Leyte, Philippines


Best Budget Breakfast at Goto Bevs
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Best breakfast


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

All time favorite!!! 😋😋

Posted using Partiko iOS

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Best breakfast > Contest . Thanks to @mermaidvampire, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Congratulations @mermaidvampire! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 45000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi @mermaidvampire!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.503 which ranks you at #4528 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 133 places in the last three days (old rank 4395).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 86 contributions, your post is ranked at #20.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60629.29
ETH 2636.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51