Lechon feast at Salo kitchen

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


Lechon refers to roasted suckling pig. It is very popular in the Philippines during festivals or special occasions specially in the southern part of the country.

Salo means gathering and sharing specially in terms of food. If you hear "salo-salo" in the Philippines that means sharing the banquet. And that Salo is the name of this restaurant that I got to visit recently.
20190719_103410.jpg

It has a long line of dishes from lechon. I can say they have more than enough on their menu to cater to a village festival.
20190719_103420.jpg

If you see many options like these and most are all about lechon, you have to pause for a while and think. That is because lechon is known to contribute to triggering hypertension if someone has such health concern. I am not scaring you, just a reminder. 😊
20190719_103435.jpg

I was having a hard time choosing from those on display so I looked at the screen over head.
20190719_103522.jpg

Since lechon is roasted thus dry and oily, I wanted something different. It is a good thing they have the sinigang version so that is what I ordered. It is sour and savory stew.
20190719_103506.jpg

When my order was served I was surprise to see that thete is a vegetable side order. I got pakbet! It is a vegetable dish that originated from the northern part of the country. So that is north and south together; northern part with pakbet and southern part with lechon. Cool!
20190719_103544.jpg

The line was not so long when I got in. The line was still not long when I was about to finish my meal. But I noticed there are still people coming as others go. That actually reminded me of the foreigner who was right before me in line earlier. He was gesturing his order because it seems he can not speak English well.

That tells me that the restaurant is attracting people, including foreigners. Worth going bavk and trying the other dishes...
20190719_103609.jpg

Salo Lechon Belly Kitchen
Food Court
2F SM City Sucat
Doctor Arcadio Santos Avenue
Parañaque City
Metro Manila
Philippines


Restaurant Information


Salo Lechon Belly Kitchen
score
SM City Sucat, Dr Arcadio Santos Ave, Parañaque, 1700 Metro Manila, Philippines


Lechon feast at Salo kitchen
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Hey you made me hungry :)
The food looks very good.
Good review.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @macoolette, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

super check mine

I am sure you can do better with your comments. Thanks for dropping by anyway.

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 21000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You got a 45.36% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macoolette! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50