Philippine native coffee at Jacinto's Café

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


The beauty of traveling is that you get to discover new things and meet new acquaintances (if not friends) to share stories with.

It was rainy afternoon earlier today. I was looking around while waiting for the bus to depart when I noticed the crowd in this coffee stall.
06-16-07.03.37.jpg

I joined at the end of the line. While waiting for my turn, I asked the lady crew what is the erased label of the canister in the middle. I thought it is "Kalinga" but I wanted to be sure.

"Kalinga," she said. Yes, I was right!

Barako is something we at home thought as native coffee here in the Philippines but we did not really knew from which particular place. I searched and Wikipedia says barako is from Batangas and Cavite provinces. Those are in the southern part of Manila and that is an amusing discovery for me. All along, I thought barako is from the Cordillera region in the north like these Benguet and Kalinga coffee.
06-16-07.00.28.jpg

I've been hearing about Benguet and Kalinga coffee but I did not know the difference. We may even have had them at home with the coffee beans we've been using but since we are in Benguet then it is most probably the Benguet variety that we have had. So let's try Kalinga coffee now.
06-16-07.03.08.jpg

A guy ordered Benguet coffee right before I placed mine. While I was waiting for my order, I noticed this somewhere at the back of the counter.

"Behind every successfulman is a substantial amount of coffee."

That's amusing. And yes, I may have not survived some of my corporate days without coffee.
06-16-07.38.43.jpg

My order was ready right after the guy's coffee was served. And I laughed!

"His is Benguet coffee and mine is Kalinga. What's the difference? I don't see any." I asked the crew while the guy took his cup. I know hat's funny. As if I can tell the difference by just looking at the cups.

The crew has not yet answered and I motioned to the guy. I asked if he can put his cup down for a while. Yes, I did that to a stranger!

He smiled and obeyed. I looked back to the crew and waited for her answer.

"This one is more aromatic," she pointed to my cup.

"Oh, seriously?" I was not convinced but she re-affirmed. I almost asked the guy if I can smell his coffee...

She asked how much creamer and sugar.

"Three and one," I said. I thought I heard him said "three and three."
06-16-07.05.18.jpg
Mine is the cup on the right.

I took my cup and took a seat. Looking back at the stall, there ain't much option for drinks except coffee. There are also few options for sandwiches. I thought it would be better if they have more.
06-16-07.09.23.jpg

So how's my Kalinga coffee? I can not tell the difference from what my mother used to brew. This may be the beans that we have been having at home after all. Ah yes, that feels like home. At least I had something different from the instant coffee that is what I usually get in the city.
06-16-07.10.37.jpg

It was late afternoon so I ordered just small size cup. With the price of P35.00 (US $0.67), that is way better than the P25.00 instant coffee from vending machines with much smaller cup size.

The café seem so simple but with the homey ambiance, it is a surprise if more people are drawn to it.
06-16-07.12.20.jpg

I will be dropping by this place again and I hope it will be sunny by then; in time to try their ice cold drinks.
06-16-07.01.30.jpg

Jacinto's Cafe
Sison Bus Stop
McArthur Highway
Brgy. Asan Sur
Sison, Pangasinan
Philippines


Restaurant Information


Jacinto's Café
score
Sison, Pangasinan, Philippines


Philippine native coffee at Jacinto's Café
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Beverages with friends


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I never heard about Philippines native coffee. Thanks for sharing this review.
☕☕☕

Keep up the good work with better review.

#tasteem-curation

You're welcome and thank you too for dropping by my post. 😊

Howdy again macoolette! I like that place! That coffee from the machines at work suck, you guys don't have your own coffee machines there? Oh, and that's a great saying too! It also applies to business WOMEN!

Are you referring to the vendo machine as coffee machine? I suppose you are not referring to coffee maker. If so, yes we have the vendo machine but not many can be seen around. Most of these are within food establishments and offices. I remember we had them on different floors in one of my previous employment. It was more beneficial for us who were going on shifting schedule so we need not have to go out for coffee at night.

Howdy maccoolette! I guess it's a cultural thing. There isn't a business or office in this country without lots of coffee machines, the small brewers with a carafe like this:
8utfmlnkw0.png

Ah, that is being referred to here as coffee maker. Though not majority of households have it, many owns it. And yes, many offices have that too. Though I was referring to this type of vendo machine...
SmartSelect_20190624-223552_Chrome.jpg

Howdy again macoolette! yes, most offices have those kind of machines too. The coffee is usually not that great from those because they just mix instant coffee with hot water right? But still it's better than nothing!

Howdy macoolette! Oh, so the vending machines are different over here, no wonder the coffee tastes so bad! lol. Are you working this weekend?

Ah no. Those coffee makers really brew from ground coffee beans. We do not need coffee maker for instant coffee.

Howdy macoolette! Oh, so the vending machines are different over here, no wonder the coffee tastes so bad! lol. Are you working this weekend?

Hi there janton! You can just boil the coffee beans and prepare with a sieve. That is what my mother used to do.

Nope, I did not work over the weekend. We were out of town for our company team building activities. How about you? How was your weekend?

not a place I would go into as coffee is something i have never liked, but it looks a cool shop and the two coffees look exactly the same to me

Ah, so the expression is not true. There is no amount of coffee behind Mr. @tattoodjay's success! 😄

I tried to stop coffee but it is what keeps me for some days. I do my best to minimize though.

I know most people are like that I used to drink far too much Coca Cola and I really struggled when I gave that up but am now used to it

Congratulations for finally stopping Coca-cola. I hope I will also be congratulating myself anytime soon for stopping coffee. 😄

It was hard and I still have one occasionally but no more than one small one once a week not all day every day LOL

There is a saying that goes "If there is a will, there is a way. Otherwise, there are excuses." I have many of the latter. I guess I just have to find the will. 😄

Over the years I have found willpower is so easy it’s the won’t power that is hard lol 😂

Ah, I should learn your technique then... 😊

wow, where singah is fun, surely the coffee drink tastes good

I can't recall where I heard that expression "singah is fun." Was it from a movie or something?

Looks like cheap , nice place for tea/coffee...

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=macoolette
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tasteem-923173


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Beverages with friends> Contest . Thanks to @macoolette, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 4000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Love to go and have coffee here.

Go give it a try.

You got a 9.77% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macoolette! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60911.15
ETH 2726.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44