Discovering for the second time along Pagoda Street

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


From the airport, I took the train going to my hotel in Chinatown. After leaving my luggage in the hotel at just a couple of minutes before noon, I went out to find a place to eat. The challenge was that there are countless restaurants nearby.

I walked farther and came across the corner of Pagoda Street. I turned into the street and got engrossed in looking for souvenir items instead of having lunch immediately. When I eventually felt my hunger, I started to look at the restaurants. I do not understand most of the menus since those are not written in English so I moved from one to another until I noticed the $8.88++ sign in front of this restaurant. There are English translations on the menu and the dishes somehow look familiar. While I was still reading the menu and trying to make up my mind, a waitress approached me and asked in English that I did not understand much. I just motioned that I will eat in the restaurant. She motioned me to get inside.
20190824_202135.jpg

The restaurant has elongated space. It has two columns of tables from the entrance up to the cashier counter at the other end. The tables on the right are good for only two persons while the ones on the left are good for groups. The area is clean, fully ventilated and have fairly enough decorations that make it cozy and lively at the same time.

I took the first table on the right.
20190824_201931.jpg

When the waitress came to my table, she handed a fairly thick menu book and three flaps.
20190824_201210.jpg

It was surprising to see that they have many options to choose from. That makes it exciting to dine in this restaurant at the same time challenging to choose which to eat if you are like me who is not familiar with many of the options.
20190824_201237.jpg

I scanned through the menus and figure out what to eat.
20190824_201259.jpg

In the end, I went back to the menu that has what I saw outside. That is because I wanted a heavy meal so I looked for the rice meal set. I raised my hand to get the attention of the waitress. When she came back to my table, I told my order and she looked a little blank so I have to point on the menu. Scallion chicken + rice. She nooded, took note and left.
20190824_201100.jpg

These wi-fi credentials are pasted on every table. How nice! I have something to get busy with while waiting for my order.
20190824_201849.jpg

Few minutes later, the waitress came to serve my drinks. I do not recall the meal set including the drink so I asked.

"The drink is included in the set?"

She apparently understood as she answered, "Yes, free drink."

Cool! I wonder how much is the whole meal set because the price is not in the menu.
20190824_201335.jpg

When my order was served, it was served with an extra small plate with chop sticks on it. I motioned for utensils so the waitress left and came back with spoon and fork. She put them on the plate as I captured on the photo.
20190824_201418.jpg

The scallion chicken is not like how it was presented on the menu with many vegetable toppings. I do not see scallion at all but just plain chicken meat which looked steamed. I tasted the sauce and smiled. It is like our patis in the Philippines. Patis is a dish sauce made from fermented fish and is salty in nature. What I like with this version of the patis is the additional ingredients like onions that gave a little variation of the saltiness. It was a good match with the chicken.
20190824_201446.jpg

In between my meal, I was taking photos of the restaurant. This art on the wall to my right caught my attention. It looked very artistic even though I do not understand its meaning. I wonder what it is...
20190824_202021.jpg

When I was done with my meal, I again raised my hand to call for attention. The waitress came and I motioned for the bill while pronouncing it. I thought she understood as she nooded and left. She came back with the receipt. The receipt was printed before I paid? That's something new. All other restaurants that I knew would first issue an order slip and print the receipt only when they receive the payment. I guess this restaurant is more trusting.

But have you got any guess as to how much the total bill was? It was SG $11.00. That was SG $ 2.2 as the ++ on the menu. I did not care knowing about what the ++ is for until now that I have to pay. Those are for service charge, GST charge (which I do not know the meaning but I am guessing it is tax) and wet tissue. Yap, tissue. I did not order for it but there it is. It was fine either way. I gave $50 bill and she came back with my change.
20190824_201528.jpg

I left and wondered if the price was right for the set meal. It was more than nine years ago when I last ate in this country. This is my first time eating here again after that long period so I do not have an answer to my own question. Let's see on my next reviews. I would know when I try other restaurants during my stay here.


Si Chuan Restaurant
64 Pagoda Street
Singapore 059223


Restaurant Information


Si Chuan Restaurant
score
64 Pagoda St Singapore 059223 Pagoda St, Singapore 059223


Discovering for the second time along Pagoda Street
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Hello, @macoolette

Thank for entering your detailed review. We look forward to your next review.

#tasteem-curation

[Tasteem Global Supporter]

Thank you very much! 😊

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Thank you! You too keep up your good work of supporting others.

May you have a great week ahead.

My pleasure! Thanks, I hope the same for you too! ;-)

Loved reading it. I think "service charged" is the tip.
I know they do this in more restaurants (not in the Netherlands by the way).
💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Yap, I guess the service charge is indeed the tip. It is just surprising to realize that you have more to pay at a later time so you have to be ready and not rely on what's on the menu.

Here in the Philippines, we have the law that prohibits any hidden charge in restaurants. What's on the menu or display should already include everything that the diner has to pay so you already know how much you need before you even start to order. And if there is no service charge included on the receipt, it is up to you if you want to leave any amount on the table.

Same in the Netherlands. The first time they dod it to me it was in Budapest Hungary. I hate it and see it as scam. I wont go back there. A tip you give if the service was nice. Here the service sucked. Not all restaurants did it by the way. They also did not inform us about it.

Howdy macoolette! that's a pretty expensive meal isn't it? I really like that artwork though!

I actually thought the price was just fine until I met my boss the following day. He was saying meals in that area are very expensive. Oopppsss, that's from someone who will approve my travel expense report. 😃

lol! opps indeed! Well I'm sure he knows you were not trying to eat at an expensive place. lol.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=macoolette
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tasteem-620e3e


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @macoolette, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @elsaenroute and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

Did you know that you get larger upvotes when posting through TravelFeed.io? That is not all, thanks to the travel writing contest by @invisusmundi you can now earn up to 100 STEEM on top of the post rewards when posting through our new platform TravelFeed.io! Read the contest announcement for more information on how to participate.

We are continuously working on improving TravelFeed, recently we relaunched our map and reinvented the profile introducing collectible badges and a scratch-off-map of your visited countries and posts.


Learn more about TravelFeed by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thank you very much! Your support continues to inspire travel bloggers.

And if we can become a resource for travelers .. that would be great too!

You got a 65.06% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macoolette! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 2 SBD and max bid is 12 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57694.11
ETH 2446.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38