All-time Filipino halo-halo

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


If you heard about the famous Filipino quick-service restaurant Jollibee (McDonald's toughest competitor and can not defeat in the Philippines), you may have also heard about Chowking. That is because Chowking is owned by Jollibee Foods Corporation.
07-30-01.59.13.jpg

Chowking is a restaurant chain and has mainly Chinese foods on their menu with combined Western and Filipino touch.
07-30-02.00.44.jpg

I had the chance to visit one of their branches lately and had our all-time favorite halo-halo dessert.
07-30-02.02.01.jpg

At first, I was wondering if I will have this combo meal but I realized that I have my breakfast in my backpack. So off my order go for halo-halo only. The cashier asked if it's okay that there is no ice cream in the ingredients because their delivery is not yet in. I am fine with that.
07-30-02.01.28.jpg

This branch inside Walter Mart Makati is fairly spacious. There were not much diners as it was still early in the morning. I wish traffic outside is as light as this...
07-30-02.02.27.jpg

On the wall facing me on my table is this poster "Sarap mag-share."

"It is good to share." Indeed. The more, the merrier.
07-30-02.02.46.jpg

When my halo-halo was served, I was suprised to see many pinipig on top. Pinipig i young grains of rice that were pounded thus flattened and roasted. I love it when it is crispy.
07-30-02.03.19.jpg

Many halo-halo servings have little of pinipig because it is not common but mine this time is different. I guess that compensates the lacking ice cream. The crew was wise enough to do that. Good vibes to start the day!
07-30-02.04.05.jpg

Chowking
GF Walter Mart Makati
Chino Roces corner Antonio Arnaiz Avenue
Makati City
Metro Manila
Philippine


Restaurant Information


Chowking
score
790 Chino Roces Ave, corner Antonio Arnaiz Ave, Makati, 1230 Metro Manila, Philippines


All-time Filipino halo-halo
This post participated in the Tasteem contest My favourite dessert


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Howdy macoolette! Chowking is a GREAT name for a restaurant! lol. I wonder if the Halo Halo's would sell good over here?

I don't know the origin of the word but we have this understanding that chow means food. I believe that is where the name of the restaurant came from.

Halo-halo will sell good in summer specially for people like you who like sweets. In here, many in the neighborhood will sell halo-halo in front of their houses during summer. They just set a table, line up all the ingredients and they are all set for halo-halo store. Your summer is approaching, right? Maybe you can give it a try and let me know. The thing is, you have to get out of you hermit shell. 😃

lol! Get out of my hermit shell! That's not going to happen. lol. That sounds like a great idea, I think you should try that in your spare time. But then, you don't HAVE any spare time so you will have to wait until you retire.

Yes, we are on the last month of summer here, that last real hot month although the heat isn't as bad as over there I don't think. Ours hottest three months run about 37 to 43 C. Occasionally 46C.

Oh, and yes..Chow means food here also. In the Old West the food wagons on the cattle drives were called Chuck Wagons but they served up Chow!

Maybe I will have halo-halo business when I retire. 😄

37C is crazy hot. How much more with 46? I don't remember that we ever hit 40C here in Metro Manila. 39C was what I can remember so far. Few years ago, I heard from the news that Cagayan Valley in the northern part of our country hit 41C. That's the hottest we had that I knew of. So it's still hotter over there.

Old West? Are those wagons going around selling food?

Howdy again macoolette! Well the difference here is that we only have that for 3 months and then most of the year the temperatures are very mild and it gets real cold in the winter, around freezing and below. But over there it is warm most of the time right? I love the change of seasons.

Oh, I forgot about your wagons question. Yes, the chuck wagons went with the long cattle drives when they were taking the cattle to market from Texas up to Kansas or farther North, it took months because with herds of cattle they only went about 10 miles each day, sometimes less.

So the chuck wagons were the food wagons with a cook who prepared food for the cowboys. Here is an authentic photo of a chuckwagon and it's cook. They always called the cook "Cookie" lol.

odi1vp1omz.jpg

Cookie for a cook. That's cool...

That wagon travels ling distance? It looks faint. I wonder how long the travel is that such wagon would last.

Howdy macoolette! Oh, those wagons were heavy and built very well, they lasted for years and years. They traveled with them for hundreds of miles each trip which lasted for months each trip.

Why not earn MARLIANS as well as STEEM for your posts. https://www.marlians.com is a steem-condenser where upon you can post to steem but you can also earn MARLIANS along with steem on the same post. You can also post to marlians from any condenser but to do that, you will need to add #marlians as one of your tag.

MARLIANS is a steem-based tokens, so you can powerup too and curate others, so that they earn MARLIANS too and you get your curation rewards.

You can also get some MARLIANS as it is cheap, powerup and curate: https://steem-engine.com/?p=market&t=MARLIANS

It is overwhelming to see so many condensers and tokens coming out lately but that is great. We got more options to choose from. Thanks for letting me know about Marlians.

Yes. Marlians.com is a home


Posted via Marlians.com

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <My favourite dessert > Contest . Thanks to @macoolette, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35