Pinoy halo-halo dessert

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


Mang Inasal is a Filipino chain of quick service restaurants and is owned by Jollibee Foods Corporation (JFC). Being a quick service restaurant, expect the chairs, tables and free spacesto be not as spacious as those in fine dining restaurants.
05-02-08.05.23.jpg

It is very popular because of its unlimited rice option on the main meal menus. This is actually their edge among other quick service restaurants because it is known that Filipinos are rice lovers.
05-02-08.03.27.jpg

While I enjoy the unlimited rice most of the time, one other main reason why I visit the restaurant is their dessert options. Sometimes they have promo like this merienda (snack) combo of noodles and halo-halo. I love the halo-halo the most!
05-02-08.03.05.jpg

Halo-halo is an original Filipino cold dessert with different sweet ingredients mixed in crushed ice and evaporated milk. These ingredients are sweetened beans, jack fruit, ube, coconut julienes, gelatin, leche flan, boiled root crops like sweet potato, seaweed gelatin and scoop of ice cream. Many halo-halo blends usually have limited ingredients like just the gelatin and too much ice. That is the opposite of halo-halo at Mang Inasal. It has many ingredients that are really true to the taste. It even has his tube waffle which no other halo-halo serving has. It is very creamy and I really love all those many ingredients together. Halo-halo is perfect for summer! It can be just prepared at home or better yet, invite your family to Mang Inasal's.
05-02-08.05.48.jpg

There are two sizes of servings of halo-halo at Mang Inasal. One is the regular serving which costs P75.00 (US$ 1.45) while the other one is small size which costs P50.00 (US $0.96). If I have halo-halo alone, I take the regular size because it is just right size on its own. However on cases when I take it with a meal just like what I did for this review, I take the small one because I can not finish the regular size with rice meal.😊
05-02-11.50.23.jpg

I had the impression that this branch which I visited used to be Manong Pepe's which the owner JFC has rebranded using their acquired restaurant, Mang Inasal. That is because I searched for Mang Inasal in the area and Manong Pepe is the one coming out on Google maps. It has incomplete details anyway so I put the address below.
05-02-08.06.20.jpg

Mang Inasal
GF El Molito Building Alabang–Zapote Road
Ayala Alabang
1780 Muntinlupa City
Metro Manila
Philippines


Restaurant Information


Mang Inasal
score
Southstation, Alabang Junction, South Luzon Expressway, Alabang, Muntinlupa City, 1770 Metro Manila, Philippines


Pinoy halo-halo dessert
This post participated in the Tasteem contest My favourite dessert


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Unhealthy man un unli-rice kaya. bute kung black rice yan as even the red have high carbs.

Hehehe... So ibig sabihin, maraming unhealthy na Pinoy? 😊 Tingin ko, hindi naman. Kasi hindi porke unli eh ibig sabihin excessive. Maganda yong unli sa mga magana talagang kumain. Kung malaking tao, tama lang din naman na marami kung kumain. Proportion kung baga. Eh kung yong isang rice lang, malamang kulang nga. 😊

We were raised kasi with white rice..that alone is unhealthy. If puro black rice ang harvest, bought cheaply then kahet ilang cups yan, it's the healthy rice.
White rice ang norm, but it's not the best option. Or kahet red rice na lang, meron naman tayo.
One hearsay from the farmers was that, walang nabile. One because we are not used sa taste, two, mas mahal.

It may not be the best but I won't call the "norm with white rice" as unhealthy. Otherwise, maybe 99.99% of Filipinos are unhealthy which I don't think so.

I never would have thought of rice and noodles with any kind of dessert, but I only know of halo-halo through its ice cream imitation. Then again, waffles (in the form of ice cream cones) work with ice cream, so as I was reading this I was trying to stretch my thinking, and now it makes sense to me. Ice cream with a waffle cone, halo-halo with noodles or rice ... it makes better sense, the more I learn what halo-halo really is. Someday I will have to get very brave, and try this!

There is no need to find courage in eating a very creamy halo-halo. It's a piece of cake! 😊

Nice dessert and fantastico colors!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <My favourite dessert > Contest . Thanks to @macoolette, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

You got a 12.28% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macoolette! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62980.19
ETH 3123.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87