<Le Crocodile> Contest - Foodie Review

in #tasteem6 years ago

This French restaurant was recommended to me by one of my friend, who is a huge fan of fancy dinners and datings =). I was looking for the place for the special occasion and he brought up the idea to go there. Honestly, it was an expensive but satisfying experience for me and my husband.

Le Crocodile.jpg

It was my birthday and we were ready to spend some certain amount of money and didn't think about our choices. So going through the menu we decided to have the entrees and a dessert, shared between two of us. And the bottle of wine, for sure! This place is specializing in the French cuisine, so they have such a great variety of the French and local wines and we were struggling with the choice (I love wine, but not a huge expert choosing the perfect one).

It was my first time when I had Foie Gras.

So our appetizer was a "Fresh Pan-Seared Quebec Foie Gras".

IMG-6103.png

Sounds great, yeah?! But it doesn't taste great (not because it wasn't cooked the proper way and chef did something wrong), because we found, that we are not fans of rich oil and fat taste. It was like we were eating the butter... Super tender and super... butter. I was extremely expensive and we even couldn't finish it. We were laughing, that thanks God we weren't born in France, otherwise, it might be our daily meal, which just sounds fancy, but doesn't taste so.

As a main dish, my husband had Slow-Braised Lamb Shank “Provençal-Style” with roasted sweet garlic, glazed shallots and tomato Fondue.

IMG-6102.png

sorry for the quality of the photo (I was a bit shy to make a photo of his food). I don't eat meat, so I didn't try his dish, but he told me that it was perfectly tender, rich in flavors and he really enjoyed it.

My dish was "Cabillaud Grillé, Vélouté auz Petits Pois, Ragoût de Quinoa"

IMG-6101.png

It was nice, but a little bit plain in taste. So I can't name it the "best dish which I've ever had".

After having all these entrees, we were full but decided to move forward and have a dessert (it was the birthday, remember? )

So, as a dessert, we had a Crème Brulée (Crème Brulée with the essence of Fresh Strawberries).

IMG-6104.JPG

It was extremely good: super light, super refreshing and a perfect finish to our dinner.

In the end, I wanna add, that the service was good, probably 5/5, the food was ok (I mean, it wasn't bad, probably I just made wrong choices), so I would rate it 3.5/5 and the whole atmosphere was amazing. Definitely, it was an interesting experience in my life.

Restaurant Information

Le Crocodile
Phone
(604) 669-4298

Suite 100 – 909 Burrard St. (at Smithe)
Vancouver, BC
V6Z 2N2

This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice https://tasteem.io/event/88

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-22T20:40:24
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 273.00/200.00
Total Photos: 42
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

One really does not miss out trying out things, it rather form part of one's experience. As it were, I enjoyed being share the experience. I am better able to choose right if I find myself there. Thank you for this.

me too, I love sharing experience and love to write other reviews. it helps to make a better choice.

Glad you took time to do something special for your birthday :) Creme Brulee is my favorite dessert. I almost always have it when I see it on the menu.

I love classic cheesecake. But it was French restaurant and they didn't serve cheesecakes =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97