STEEM Food Tours #62 - Pilipala Poke Bowl @Gurney Plaza

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image

What is Poke Bowl You May Aks?

Pilipala01.jpg

Pilipala02.jpg

Pilipala04.jpg

Pilipala05.jpg

This health food was originated from Hawaii, and in Hawaiian, Poke means “to slice or cut”, Poke Bowl also means Rice Bowl and basically, it's rice topped with cubed of marinated fresh raw fish and colourful toppings with variety of fresh vegetables and sauces. Nowadays it has become a trend as healthy food and a great choice nutritionally because it contains grains, fibres and proteins, needed for the health conscious to live a healthy life.

So back to the "Pilipala Poke Bowl" that I am about the introduced to you. Pilipala Poke Bowl just had their 1st Anniversary last month. They are still relatively new, only 2 branches in Penang Island.

Due to @roselifecoach was still on the Wildfit Program at that time, we need to find "clean" food like this which was very very hard to find. We were lucky to spot this place at the lower ground floor of Gurney Plaza Mall. You would not believe how excited we were when we saw the word "Poke Bowl" from the far end of the Mall.

It's not a huge counter but the place is neat and clean. All the ingredients are in front of you and you can see how fresh they are, make the tummy feel safe when you know where the food comes from.

text16.png

This is their List of Menu and How to Order Your Food.

Pilipala03.jpg

Menu01.jpg

Menu02.jpg

Pilipala06.jpg

Pilipala07.jpg

You can choose from the list of menu Or you can create your own Poke Bowl. There are three sizes to choose from, just fill up the order sheet on what you would like to have. This is the part I like, I can change my order each time I come here, and since their protein have many kinds, I won't get bored with them.

They have 5 types of grains, including keto friendly base like Cauliflower Rice, 8 types of Sauces, 15 types of sides (Veggies and nuts), 8 add-on and 11 kinds of toppings for you to choose from.

After finished choosing your food, pay at the counter and just sit down, relax and wait for your food to arrive so you can post up on Facebook!! LOL

text16.png

Look at those BOWLS!!

Poke Bowl01.jpg

Poke Bowl02.jpg

Poke Bowl03.jpg

Poke Bowl04.jpg

We came back the Second Day!

Poke Bowl06.jpg

Poke Bowl05.jpg

Then we came back AGAIN the Third Day!!

Poke Bowl07.jpg

Poke Bowl08.jpg

Poke Bowl09.jpg

During our stay at Penang, we only managed to went back three times, so the photos above were from 3 different days with different orders.

On the First day, Rose had Shoyu Salmon, with added Crispy Salmon Skin and Avocado, I had their Teriyaki Chicken Thigh and the pickled radish I have chosen was delicious! It's the only one I kept repeatedly order.

Second day, we both had the same thing which is Shoyu Salmon but we pick different ingredients. I do like adding Pumpkin Seed or Sunflower Seeds to it.

On the Third day, Rose is still going for the Salmon because she can't take other protein that is already mixed or cooked with sauce. But I want to try different things, so I had Honey Herbs Chicken and changed some of my vegetables.

text16.png

Overall.

Overall, the service was good, except mixed up of my sauce to Rose's bowl so she had to scrape out the sauce back to me. Fast, clean, portions are decent, worth the price you are paying.

I would definitely come back again since I am accustomed to eating healthy food now without the carbs and sugars. I hope you enjoy the food (visually, lol...). Until next review, see you again very soon!

text16.png

All photos were taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge.

text16.png

Pilipala Poke Bowl.
Address: B1-K19/20 Gurney Plaza, Persiaran Gurney
10250 George Town, Malaysia
Phone: +6010-374 1228
https://www.facebook.com/pilipalapokebowl/

Open Daily: 10 am – 10 pm

!steemitworldmap 5.437433 lat 100.309909 long Pilipala Poke Bowl @Gurney Plaza d3scr


Joe Steemit divider.jpg

Thank you for stopping by, this is a place where I can share the things I enjoy in life, art, gardening, nature, foods. This is why my divider above are filled with all the different kind of icons that I love doing. I hope you enjoy my post so far, leave me a comment if you like.
谢谢您的到访,这里是个我可以分享关于我所喜爱的生活,包括艺术,园艺,大自然,食物等等的地方。 这就是为什么我上面的页脚全都是我喜欢做的不同类型的图标。 我希望您喜欢我的帖子,如果您喜欢,不妨留下您的评语。

Proud Member of:

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Proud curator and editor of #cn-malaysia

mmexport1555574678226.jpg


Restaurant Information


Pilipala Poke Bowl @Gurney Plaza
score
10250 George Town, Penang, Malaysia


STEEM Food Tours #62 - Pilipala Poke Bowl @Gurney Plaza
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Thanks for entering @steemfoodtours #62!

Thank you for the contest too!

Soo lovely poke bowl. I love so much vegetables.

Yay! Another veggies lover!

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Thank you so much!

Looks delicious!

They really were @spellmaker!

Healty & Tasty!

They are isn't it!

woah amazing post, ok i love the food and how you click the high quality pictures 😇 you use phone camera?

Thanks @vibesforlife. Yup, just the usual Phone Camera.

Errr.. how about 4th day ?

Posted using Partiko Android

4th day? Eat something else already because it's PENANG! I have to try other local food too!! Hahaha

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Thank you for the amazing support @helpiecake!!!

I was wondering what is poke bowl too until my friend brought me to try one...a bowl of healthy food but can be quite expensive

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, indeed it's a rather high-end kind of food. Thank you @vangie for stopping by!

Hey @joelai,
my friend @amico tells me that you are a gourmet... from how you write, it seems to me to be true! (Do you give me a cookie as a reward? 🐶 HARF HARF! 🐾)

(Bookmarked & upvoted) ;)

Hello @holydog!! I must thank you and also say thanks to @amico too for selling me high on the gourmet thing!! Hahaha...
Really thank you for the amazing support you have given, I wish I have cookies for you...

Cool! 😎
We’re walking together right now! 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's really cool!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60270.89
ETH 2383.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57