STEEM Food Tours #62 - Osteria da Fortunata - Rome, Italy

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


Osteria da Fortunata - Rome, Italy

@STEEMFoodTours #62

As you may know, Italy is loaded with tremendous food. When I recently took a trip to Rome, I spent most of the time walking around eating food from various restaurants and cafes. During my first afternoon in the ancient city, I stopped at a place called Osteria da Fortunata. It had great reviews online, so I thought I'd give it a shot.

IMG_4433.jpg

As you can see in the photo above, it looks like a nice little streetside restaurant. As I approached, I noticed that there was a woman in the windowsill making fresh pasta by hand for all to see. It was at that moment when I realized this was going to be a top notch meal.

IMG_4427.jpg

I've never made pasta by hand before (although I'd love to try someday!). She was rolling out the orange colored dough and crimping it into pasta pieces. It was interesting to see. I chose to sit outside in a table where I could watch the process while enjoying the byproduct.

IMG_4430.jpg

The place was empty when I got there, but that's because I arrived right when the restaurant was opening. I was walking around the city all morning and by 11 AM I was feeling mighty hungry. I imagine this place gets super busy during a prime eating time.

The waiter was very helpful and gave me a run down of the different pastas and styles on the menu. He told me that the Sciavatelli (which I have never heard of before) was very fresh and a good choice. I decided to trust him and order Sciavatelli alla Gricia. Sciavatelli was like a thick fettuccine.

IMG_4644.JPG

This was hands down the best pasta I’ve ever had in my life. I sat outside eating this delicious lunch while I watched the woman in the windowsill making fresh pasta by hand. I absolutely fell in love with Italian cuisine during this trip to Rome. Beforehand, I was not a big pasta fan, but now I’ve been craving this dish since the day I ate it. Gricia is a style of pasta that is prepared with Pecorino Romano cheese, Black Pepper, Guanciale, and a bit of salt. It’s a traditional Roman dish that dates back to 400 AD. Unfortunately there are not many places that serve such high quality pasta plates where I live... I will have to go back to Italy soon.

Restaurant NameOsteria da Fortunata
AddressVia del Pellegrino, 11/12, 00186 Roma, Roma, Italy
Type of FoodFresh Pasta
OccasionLunch
Time of DayEarly Afternoon
Price RangeMedium
Rating10/10

Love food?
Check out the weekly @steemfoodtours Challenge on Steem by @jeffjagoe

Get Let's Eat from the Play Store

Click Here to Join the STEEM Food Tours Contest!

Good Luck & Happy Eating!

Thanks For Reading!

Sign Up to Menē for $5 towards 24K Gold Jewelry
Join Airbnb and Save $40 on your first trip
Get Paid to Read Your E-Mails with Earn.com
Earn STEEM Dollars & more by completing online tasks
Convert your online activity into Gift Cards, Crypto or Paypal with GaB
Get Paid to Get Fit with the SweatCoin App
Use Bitcoin for Amazon Purchases and Save $$$
Sign Up to Binance - A Leading Crypto Exchange
Join the TRYBE Publishing Platform on the EOS Network
Join Lolli for Bitcoin Rebates
Collect, Trade & Battle on the Blockchain with SteemMonsters
Join Actifit - Get Rewarded For Being Active
Send a Tip Using the Bitcoin Lightning Network


Restaurant Information


Osteria da Fortunata
score
Via del Pellegrino, 11, 00186 Roma RM, Italy


STEEM Food Tours #62 - Osteria da Fortunata - Rome, Italy
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Thanks for entering @steemfoodtours #62!

Love to try this one..

Dear Tasteemer,

Our auto-vote system has an error at the moment, it does not upvote your post.

We reported this problem to our dev team and it should be fixed on Monday and we will upvote your post after the bug is fixed.

Thank you for your patience

Tasteem Global Team

Thanks a lot for the update @siamcat!

Wow the pasta is freshly made, definitely a tasty and nice one !

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jeffjagoe
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tasteem-b7f224


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @jeffjagoe, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33