Tasteem Review | Banh Khot, Vietnamese Mini Pancake

in #tasteem4 years ago

title_image


Every Saturday morning I go to the local wet market to do my errands; shop for perishable items such as fruits, vegetables, meat, fish or poultry. And each time, I'm bound to find something new; maybe it's not new but it's something I didn't notice before or something that I've seen but unfamiliar to me.

On this particular day, I so happened to walk along this alley and it was leading to a food stall; an elderly lady was frying some snacks from what I can see on a small hot stove placed on the ground. It looked like pancakes to me from afar. Still, I didn't knew what exactly it was.

IMG_20191229_091809.jpg

Looking at the sign board placed on the wall; it must've been one of these items - and since the prices indicated on the sign board seemed reasonable; I thought it might be a good idea to try out what these white round looking dough is all about. I'll admit that I was curious because I saw these placed on a plate just over the counter.

I looked up at the lady and pointed my finger at these snacks and said Một which means One. And then I said Túi Mang Về which means Take Away or Take Back. These are very key words if you want to buy food and have it eaten back home. She understood me and immediately started to pack my order for me.

IMG_20191229_092058.jpg

There were about 12 pieces of these white round looking dough; some slices of lettuce and several stalks of basil leaves; also a small packet of chilli sauce for dip. I paid VND 20,000 so I guess this must be Banh Khot as per the menu sign board; which equates to USD 0.86 = MYR 3.53.

IMG_20191229_091837.jpg

Unquestionably one of the most economically meal for me on a Saturday morning. This became my brunch and did the work to fill my stomach. After a while I found out from fellow colleagues that this is what we would call it as Vietnamese Pancake. In some places, they would put seafood but the more economical ones just have minced meat with spring onions.

IMG_20191229_094957.jpg

Still very much an economical dish and fills up the stomach.


Restaurant Information


Banh Khot Stall
score
Nguyễn Cảnh Chân, Quận 1, Hồ Chí Minh, Vietnam


Tasteem Review | Banh Khot, Vietnamese Mini Pancake
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Street Food


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Street Food> Contest . Thanks to @ireenchew, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81