For three American dollars have a taste of Cebu's lechon

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


Yeah you here it right in my country we roast and entire pig and call it "lechon".Celebrations are always with them in the menu.

The basic process of lechon is to roast a gutted pig slowly. Most would have their belly filled with lemongrass and herbs while others would brush their skin with soda or condensed milk to give that distinct glow. Most would claim their method is the best but honestly like beauty it's pretty much subjective .

Up to this day what makes up. for that delicious lechon would remain a trade secret. Yes there will be roasted pig around the globe but food conniseur the late Michael Bourdain did say Cebu has the mouthwatering of them all.

IMG_20190421_050359.jpg

IMG20190416115938.jpg

Other find it disgusting to see an entire pig tail and all on one's table but you'd be surprised this opinion isn't shared by any Filipinos who even managed rum make festivals out of them where they are dresses up in fluvial processions.

So after I renewed my passport. I opt. to eat here in Tess lechon. This is my second time as I like their lechon when I first hopped in here. For three dollars you get 1/4 kilo of this crisp skin and tender juicy meat.
IMG_20190421_051703.jpg

I ordered "nilatang baka"meaning stewed beef with vegetables and off course lechon. The stewed beef was bland I practically just sip its broth and leave everything else behind when I left.

But with the these condiments I devoured all of the roasted pork.
IMG20190416120305.jpg

So what condiments am I referring to? This three of course .From left to rigth it's chicken skin oil, soysauce and vinegar. Yeah this place grills whole chicken to and serve typical Filipino foods like pancit or stir fry noodles and other viands.
IMG20190414133608.jpg

It's a small place nothing posh but the service is fast and the crews are respectful. The place is conveniently located near a mall and just by the roadside so I bet they attract a lot of customers.Do check the out yourslef


Restaurant Information


Tess Lechon
score
M. C. Briones St, Mandaue City, Cebu, Philippines


For three American dollars have a taste of Cebu's lechon
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I will be in Cebu in a few weeks. This looks like something I must try!

Posted using Partiko Android

@smallearth surelynyou won't be disappointed with Cebu's array of lechon you can try
I'm pretty sure I made some post in other producers/suppliers feel free to scroll down. Happy Easter my friend. Thanks for taking time to go through my post

@juvyjabian it's Easter Sunday time to dig in to those lechon! Happy Easter my friend. Thanks for reading my post

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @gratefulayn, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80