Miguel's in Chiang Mai - Incredible Tex Mex on the other side of the world

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


There are a relatively high amount of Mexican and Tex Mex establishments in the city of Chiang Mai. So many in fact that it is difficult to know which are the good ones and which are just taking advantage of the "tourist areas."

I am happy to report that Miguel's, despite being in the tourist part of the city, actually knows how to make good Tex Mex and I was very impressed.

52426190_2451706298234253_478803280575594496_n.jpg

It doesn't really look like much in my picture but for me, when i go to a Tex Mex place, I'm not really dining there because I want Gordon Ramsay to be arranging my food in a beautiful manor, I'm there for the flavor and that is where Miguel's really delivers.

miguels-004.jpg

again, the presentation isn't very photo-worthy to be honest but let me tell you why that doesn't matter at all.

The essense of good Tex Mex is in the seasoning, after-all virtually everything else in a taco can be obtained everywhere in the world. However, if they season the meat incorrectly it is no longer a taco and this is where Miguel's does it just perfectly.

52508102_793181527710087_8018386844196536320_n.jpg

Their interior design mirrors their food presentation. Simple, with a focus on functionality rather than being overly ornate. Perhaps it is just me, but I prefer simplicity and good taste over decoration that serves no purpose and simply increases the price of the dishes.

A visit to Miguel's will not break the bank either. A 3 taco dinner (hard or soft) as well as just about anything else on the menu can be acquired for under 200 Baht (about $6US) per person excluding drinks.


Restaurant Information


Miguel's Cafe
score
106 Chaiyapoom Soi 1, Tambon Si Phum, Amphoe Mueang Chiang Mai, Chang Wat Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand


Miguel's in Chiang Mai - Incredible Tex Mex on the other side of the world
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Yay finally you got it right and tasteem has spotted your post. I suppose it helps by logging in to their site in the first place lol.
This place looks decent and would go with your recommendations as you have eaten in more places that people have changed their underwear. Good to see you found a good one at a decent price as well. The running is going to come in handy to build up your appetite.

It's 1 am and I want tacos now, damnit

well depending on where you live there is a good chance you can get them!

I agree, they can do better with the presentation but if the flavours are there, you can't complain.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @gooddream, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

The food really looks sumptuous and yummy to taste and I know for sure that it will be very delicious as well

Wow it looks so tempting

Posted using Partiko Android

You certainly is doing a very good job!!
These places should give you free vouchers for each month!!

Looking very good! My friendy!

Posted using Partiko iOS

ha! I certainly would like it if they did do that for me! Well, the ones that i write nice things about anyway. I rip apart plenty of crappy restaurants too.

Yah! You are a critical and factual reviewer!! Good for unwitting consumers! Those terrible restaurants would be made to improve the quality of food or lose customers!
But you never told them later that you were writing a good review for good restaurant! You might get special discount card!! Ask for one!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very tasty🤤🤤 looking @gooddream....

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow... Wonderful place with good food. You make me wanna try all! Tacos!

A taco for after lunch is very satisfying I guess, it looks great !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63