CK Tanjung Pinang's "Nasi Lemak"

in #tasteem6 years ago

title_image


For my 5th Tasteem food review, I would like share my food experience from my last visit to Indonesia's Tanjung Pinang. Since I wanted to for a local cuisine, my first choice would be one of the most popular local dish - the "Nasi Lemak".

A dish that is prominent to Malay food culture and over the course of history it also spread to other South-East Asian countries like Singpore, Indonesia, Philippines, and even Thailand.

Firstly, what is Nasi Lemak? The name is Malay in origin, Nasi actually means "cooked rice" while Lemak means "oily or fatty", apparently the names says it all - it isn't the healthiest food that you could ever had - "fatty rice". The fat or oil actually came from the use of coconut cream, which transforms to oil when cooked.

I consider this dish an Asian version of Big Mac, it's my personally interpretation of comfort "fatty" food, which tastes really(x2) good by the way.

While Nasi Lemak is considered to be a humble dish, mostly served on simple food stalls along te street of Indonesia; it's also served in restaurants and hotels as an elevated version of it.

DSC01096-1.jpg

I came to realise it as I dine in the CK Tanjung Pinang Hotel-Restaurant, which for me is a refined version of Nasi Lemak that I used to eat in Singapore. Check out the photo below.

My first impression, it looks substantial enough since it was served with "4" pieces of Fried Chicken. in Singapore, it's usually served as a single piece. I did checked, I was told the serving is for 1 person only, it's really substantial!

DSC01097-1.jpg

The Nasi or rice on the other hand is "underwhelming" in my opinion. For me, the Nasi should be aromatic and fatty, I was served with a rice that has a minimal fatty flavour in it. If it's not about the chicken I would be really disappointed on it.

Contrary to most Nasi Lemak that I've tried, this one is paired with vegetables and tomatoes, unlike the usual Singapore version which is paired with peanuts, dried anchovies, & sliced cucumber.

Now, when it comes to the Fried Chicken - I enjoyed it. It isn't just a plain fried meat. I can taste the soy-based marinade and some unique falvours to it which taste like turmeric and or a bit of curry powder ont it.

Although the dish is a bit dry, it's still well cooked. I must say that this dish is the healthier version of Nasi Lemak.

With regards to the place, I didn't managed to get a decent picture of it and so I'll just show the photos taken from their website.

1.JPG

2.JPG

3.JPG

The restaurant is along the large pool which makes it really pleasant. Anyone can have a walk along pool after a heavy meal like this one. The surrounding is also peaceful since their isn't too many commercial development around it.


Restaurant Information


CK Tanjung Pinang Hotel-Restaurant
score
Tanjung Pinang, Tanjung Pinang City, Riau Islands, Indonesia


CK Tanjung Pinang's "Nasi Lemak"
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I'm really hungry and fighting the urge for a midnight snack. Your post is NOT helping me right now. You can keep the rice, I'll take the rest, please!!

Hehe, but it seems that you just had your mcdonalds ;)

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @funtraveller, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

你今天过的开心吗?想一展歌喉吗?好声音@cn-voice欢迎你~倘若你想让我隐形,请回复“取消”。

The place look so nice with beautiful view!

You're right. Wrong pairing of nasi lemak... It was just AYAM GORENG dengan nasi putih. But your photos are. Stunning.

It's nice when you can enjoy great food when you're on the road. Yesterday I had fried chicken but it wasn't as nice as this one, it was from KFC :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53406.15
ETH 2223.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29