STEEM Food Tours #65 - Keyesport, Illinois USA - A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


If you are exploring the lake area of Keyesport through Carlyle (the largest manmade lake in Illinois) then you owe it to yourself to stop at The Keyes for some of the best walleye fried fish you can find.

You have your choice of dining upstairs in an open air patio area:

20190609_182210.jpg

Which has a great view of the lake:

20190609_182227.jpg

Or you can dine on the main floor:

20190609_182410.jpg

Since this is set in the middle of a recreation area, the atmosphere is casual and relaxing.

Here are the menus, but honestly, I don't even look at them because I always order the walleye.

This is their Specials menu:

20190609_182650.jpg

This is their Appetizers, Salads, and Sides menu:

20190609_182924.jpg

And this is their Entree Menu. The walleye dinner is "all you can eat" which means if you can finish the 4 big pieces of fish they bring you, they will bring you more fish. We couldn't even finish the first 4 pieces!

20190609_182640.jpg

I ordered the walleye with sides of a salad and a baked potato.

20190609_184641.jpg

20190609_184644.jpg

My husband ordered the walleye (yes, I had to talk him out of his normal hamburger but he thanked me for it in the end!) with sides of french fries and baked beans.

20190609_184657.jpg

This is their website if you'd like to visit it and learn more about them:

https://www.thekeysonlakecarlyle.com/

I highly recommend this restaurant. We have a friend who visits from Chicago (a large metropolitan area) and he always wants to come here for the walleye!


Restaurant Information


The Keys
score
712 Main St, Keyesport, IL 62253, USA


STEEM Food Tours #65 - Keyesport, Illinois USA - A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I miss baked potato after read your post. 🍠 🍠 🍠

Thanks for sharing your review.

#tasteem-curation

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @blueeyes8960, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

The portion is so big, I think I can only take one piece of that, nice place!!

Yes, they are plenty generous with their portions.

A great review the Walleye does look so good, I think If I went there I would go for the upstairs spot outside with the view

We probably would have sat up there if we hadn't just spent the previous 3 hours hiking around the lake. It was pretty darn hot that day, so we were ready to sit down and enjoy some air conditioning downstairs. But I have sat up there before and enjoyed a beverage or two watching the sailboats. It wasn't very windy this day so none of the sailboats were out, usually there are several zipping around.

#tasteem-curation

Ohh yes thats understandable I have been in similar situations and gone for air conditioning myself ;)
Sitting up with a cool drink and watching the sailboats sounds like something I would have done as well

Thanks for entering @steemfoodtours #65!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64848.13
ETH 3173.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55