A Day of Eye Troubles, Sim Card Shenanigans, and Tech Tinkering

in #tanzania21 hours ago

Yesterday was a bit of a rollercoaster. I started by diving into my digital past. Using Google Takeout, I extracted my photos and organized them into date-specific folders. It was a nostalgic trip down memory lane. After spending more time than expected organizing my digital life, I decided to take a break and grab a simple lunch at a local eatery. It's always interesting to experience the local vibe and enjoy affordable meals.

IMG_20240728_133903550_HDR.jpg

On my way back, I decided to finally get a SIM card. Much to my surprise, the price had doubled compared to just a few weeks ago. Is this the infamous "Mzungu" price? The price difference is making me reconsider my network provider. I might switch to avoid potential overcharges, but I haven't made a decision yet.

The eye problem, which has been bothering me for two days, put a damper on my plans for a relaxing video session at the evening. It was painful and blurry, so I opted for some soothing music instead.

Today, I started with a cold shower, hoping to alleviate the eye discomfort. It helped a bit, but the irritation persists. I suspect an infection and might need to visit a pharmacy. Given it's Sunday, I'm unsure about pharmacy hours and potential extra charges.

While I wait for my eye to improve, I've resumed downloading photos from Google and giving my public travel photo gallery another shot. Monetization through platforms is something I'm exploring seriously. The world of blockchain and cryptocurrencies has opened up new possibilities for generating income while traveling. Starting my journey in March 2017, I had no idea how to sustain myself financially while traveling. Generating income was a big question mark. Thanks to the people who've shared their knowledge, I've come a long way.

Speaking of travel, the weather here at the foot of Kilimanjaro is surprisingly chilly and cloudy. Who would have thought I'd need a fleece jacket in Africa? Google insists it's 27 degrees Celsius, but my body disagrees.

To add to my tech adventures, I installed the Ungoogled Chromium browser today. It's an interesting concept, but I'm still undecided about making the switch from Firefox. The world of open-source software has evolved significantly since my last deep dive, and I'm slowly rediscovering my way around. After years of using a Chromebook, I decided to switch back to Linux. I picked up a used ThinkPad and installed Fedora on it.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on the best Linux desktop environment – Gnome or KDE Plasma? And if you have any insights on platforms for generating income, please share them in the comments.

That's all for now. I'll keep you updated on my eye situation and my tech explorations. Until next time!

Unsure what photo to include, I decided to snap a quick shot of my workspace for today


Find me on Nostr

npub1kt92nvl0xra26cz7tmhd3k3v3ltmfj5890kdc3qq9860h84tp76swuf0p0

Online

Profile Page | Support Page

Feel free to support me by sending some sats via the lightning network to [email protected]

rubenstorm@sats.mobi.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69629.04
ETH 3375.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74