My First Nano Shrimp Tank

in #tank7 years ago


I used to be into fish keeping when i was younger and at one point had over 12 tanks all over my parents house. I was on a 6 year fish keeping hiatus but missed having some sort of water in my house, but i did not miss having to do all the maintenance that went with a tank especially with a salt water tank. I was doing research on easy to maintain but also beautiful tank setups. I did not want to have to deal with Co2, frequent water changes or any other weekly chores. I stumbled upon planted shrimp tanks and thought this is exactly what i am looking for. I knew if i wanted this to be easy and low maintenance i would have to start right from the beginning. After lots of research I settled on a Fluval spec v for my tank. I like the seamless design and built in filter. The included lights are enough to grow low light plants so that was all i wanted.
normal-4e06c6f6afde87285c5a7c0787f7dd0f-33528335.jpg
I also spent some decent money on good gravel medium. I chose
)
After i set up my tank, with rocks, water, java moss, and marimo moss balls, i started the cycling process. The hardest part is being patient and not adding your fish or shrimp too fast. Taking the time to let the biology of the tank balance out, is important and worth it in the end. When the time was ready i added 10 Crystal Red Cherry Shrimp and 3 Nerite snails. The shrimp started breeding within 40 days and i have over 50 of them now in the tank. This explosion of the population has allowed me to start new tanks and planted bowls with all the new babies. IMG_1760.JPG
After 2 years the tank biology is strong and requires very little effort. I have added some lucky bamboo in the gravel and filter medium to help breakdown the shrimp waste. This heavy planting allows me to go months without any maintenance besides for trimming the new plant growth. I change the water about once every 8 months and since it is right next to my sink this couldn't be easier. If you at all are thinking about starting a shrimp tank or are interested in planted tanks, shrimp are the way to go. Fairly inexpensive and very easy to maintain i am very happy with my new hobby.
IMG_1757.JPG

IMG_1763.JPG

IMG_1764.JPG

IMG_1766.JPGhttps://dtube.video/#!/v/chad.kubanoff/mk64ifxk![IMG_1756.JPG]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66