This Is Japan

in #tanabata7 years ago

Explore everyday life in Japan

Tanabata


IMG_0210.JPG


In Japan, July 7 is a day for wishing on a star. Two stars, in fact, the Vega and the Altair.

According to an old legend that was brought to Japan from China many, many years ago, two hardworking people, Orihime, a weaver and Hikoboshi, a cattle herder, fell deeply in love and wed. These two enjoyed their time together so much that they gradually began spending less and less time working and, instead, began spending more and more time with each other.

Orihime’s father, who was the creator of the universe, didn’t like the fact that his daughter and Hikoboshi were spending less and less time at work doing what they were supposed to be doing, so he punished them. He forced them to live separately and lay a river (the Milky Way) between them so that they wouldn’t be able to see each other. From that day on, the two lovers were only allowed to see each other for one day a year. That day is today, July 7.

Many people believe that if it rains on this day Orihime and Hikoboshi will have to wait another year to be together.


IMG_0239.JPG

A common paper decoration that represents the Milky Way


Traditionally, this day, which is called Tanabata, was considered a day to wish for improvement in one’s weaving skills and handicraft abilities.

Later, during the Edo Period, this also became a time to wish for one’s handwriting and calligraphy skills to improve. These days, wishes are made for just about anything. Many children wish to become sports players or even TV action heroes. Junior high school students often wish to pass their high school entrance exams or to find boyfriends and girlfriends. Adults, if they make wishes, tend to wish for the health and happiness of their families or for better financial security.

Wishes are made by writing them down on colorful strips of paper about one inch wide and six inches long. These strips of paper are then hung on sprigs or branches of bamboo, which are often placed in the corners and entranceways of schools and the insides and outsides of houses. In many cases, children make pictures of the two star-crossed lovers at school and bring them home with a variety of colorful paper decorations and these are added to the bamboo sprigs in order to make them more colorful and festive.


IMG_0252.JPG


For lunch and sometimes dinner, many children are served food that is decorated with stars. And, of course, on this day many people hope that it doesn’t rain so that Orihime and Hikoboshi will finally be able to see each other for one day and be happy.

Fortunately, for the first time in as long as I can remember, it didn’t rain tonight where I live in Japan. This means that Orihime and the Hikoboshi were finally able to see each other.

Maybe this year, all of our wishes will come true.


For another glimpse of Tanabata in Japan, please take a look at @kafkanarchy84’s post “Star-Crossed” Lovers on July 7th—The Tanabata Festival in Japan, and the Soul-refreshing Vlaue of a Play.


Image Credits: All images in this post are original.


This is an ongoing series that will explore various aspects of daily life in Japan. My hope is that this series will not only reveal to its followers, image by image, what Japan looks like, but that it will also inform its followers about unique Japanese items and various cultural and societal practices. If you are interested in getting regular updates about life in Japan, please consider following me at @boxcarblue. If you have any questions about life in Japan, please don’t hesitate to ask. I will do my best to answer all of your questions.


If you missed my last post, you can find it here Festival Season.

Sort:  

As I have written in another tanabata post, this is a very typical Japanese story, with the conflict between feelings and duty.

I think this story definitely reveals a lot about Japanese culture--the idea of gaman and society first, the emphasis on working hard and acquiring skills, etc. It becomes a very interesting story after having lived here for a few years.

If you find that interesting, there was an anime series about Japanese classics aoi bungaku - probably easier to digest then thick books :D

Talking of this and tanabata...
I generally like a lot of the fairy tale stuff in Japan, yokai and all that. So many!

Last week I finally got a copy of night on the galactic railroad, in Japanese. I know about a dozen animes that were influenced by that (not least my beloved bungaku shoujo) so I wanted to read it.
I now just have to find the courage to read it. There are a few furigana but still... a bit like work ^^

Night on the Galactic Railroad? I don't know it. I really like the fairytale lore here and the yokai as well but I don't have much time for reading, unfortunately.

I'm interested to look into your recommendations, though. Thanks!

Thanks for the link! I'll check it out.

Thank you for bringing this wonderful legend of Orihime and Hikoboshi to life on Steemit. Such legends for the golden threads in the weave of culture in a society. I am glad o have learned this aspect of Japanese culture.

Upvoted

I am continuing to focus on my passion, which is wildlife blogs with my original wildlife photos and my musings about them. Have posted a lion cubs life blog today. I request you to take a look if you have time. Your comments would be very welcome.

That sounds interesting. I will try to do so a little later in the day. Thanks!

Japan is so amazing!
My biggest dream is to study there. I'm already studying Japanese by myself, now I only have to save up to 20,000 US $ in order to be eligible to get the student visa.

I believe here on steemit we can all achieve our dreams !

STEEM ON !

You definitely can. Why do you have to buy the visa? Isn't a part of being accepted into a program of study? Why don't you just come and work through the JET program instead? Then you can save that 20,000.

Amazing post and don't know about japan that much. Thanks for sharing.

I'm glad you liked it.

I love Japan! One day I'll live there :)

Congratulations!

I've found it to be an easy place to live. I hope it suits you well too.

The stars are a nice touch for color and fun. Japan is so strange to me and amazing. Cheers

On the food? You'd be surprised how man cutter sets they have for vegetables and cheese, etc.

I'm so glad that it didn't rain! This really shows the differences in society and culture when you learn about the difference between places in the world. This sounds like a lovely, although sad, legend.

It is a little tragic, isn't it? But it has somewhat of a realistic happy ending. These two get what they want, but in a limited dosage. And this limitation is supposed to be what makes the pay off that much more rewarding:)

Yes, I agree absent makes the heart grow fonder!

Quite interesting. Every culture has a folk story behind natural phenomena like the one you described above. You said if it rains then it means that Orihime and Hikoboshi will not meet again for an year. What does the rain symbolize. Is it tears from the lovers or something different?

Afaik it is because they cannot see the way/river to cross when it rains because of the clouds. Nothing to do with the water droplets itself.

I see. So they would not be able to see each other because of the dark rain clouds so they have to wait until the next year to see each other again.

That's right. The rains block the way for them, kind of like an obstacle that gets in your way.

I joined Tabata festival near my home too. please see my blog if you want to.

I will. Thanks!

you're welcome 😊

Très bon article qui est bien écrit. Les photographies sont très belles et de qualitées.

Merci

Cordialement

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20