The Power Of Language And Ideas

in #talisharot6 years ago (edited)

Some time ago, I started reading Tali Sharot's "The Influential Mind". Because of the way the book is written and its content, every couple of pages I need to stop and think. On one of those pauses, I decided to let the book rest for a while. Today was the day that I decided to retake the reading. As expected, I had not even read 10 pages when I came to a paragraph that made me stop, think, and have a small epiphany.



We often take it for granted that one person can have suck a tremendous impact on so many. One idea, delivered in the form of a speech, a song, or a story, can change the minds and actions of millions. But if we stop to think about it, this is quite an extraordinary ability humans have - to transmit ideas from one mind to another.

I am currently studying a Master's in Cognitive Science. During my lectures, a recurrent theme of discussion is language, its strengths, weaknesses, and limitations. We learn a language almost by osmosis and I think that is why we take language for granted. In reality the cognition process behind language is tremendously complex. Language is not only a random mix of words. The purpose of it is to communicate and to do so successfully you need structure, vocabulary, grammar, syntax, etc.

Leaving language aside for a bit, try to answer the following question. What differentiates our human social structures from those of animals? To me, a very clear answer is that in human societies you will not necessarily find the strongest/smartest/most fit ruling the society. But why? So far, my best guess is that language plays a huge role. Without language, the only way to impose our will over others would be with brute force. Language allows us to persuade others by influencing them with ideas. In the end one of the strongest motivators for action is ideology and we all have one.

Like the Che Guevara said: "Podrán morir las personas, pero jamás sus ideas." (People might die, but never their ideas.)

I'd like to know your thoughts.


If you are interested in joining a STEEM community that cares about quality of content, I invite you to click on the banner below and check smartsteem. smartsteem is generating a community where you can delegate SP, buy upvotes, sell upvotes, and/or bid. Nevertheless, to use all of its services, you have to pass a whitelist check. In this check, they will review your application and decide a rating for your content. The higher your rating, the more services you have access to. The banner below is for you to be one of my referrals! Don't worry though, any money redirected to me will be taken out from their profits, not yours!

Best,

@capatazche

Sort:  

You just planted 0.27 tree(s)!


Thanks to @capatazche

We have planted already 3867.10 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20787.96
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51