Tale Weaver: Pen and Paper Role Playing System- An introduction

in #taleweaver7 years ago (edited)


This is an introductory post for what will be a series of posts. I do not know how much all of you will like or appreciate this #taleweaver series, but for me I thought it would also be nice to preserve it on the blockchain. This is OLD. It is pre-Kickstarter, pre-blockchain, and pre-a lot of other things.

Some time back in the early 1990s one of my best friends Jeremy Greene and I were often running various pen and paper role playing game sessions. It was during those college years. We would run them or play in them. One thing we quickly noted is that we were always running games with heavily modified house rules and each of us had our own. We had a fairly big gaming group we hung around with on campus back then so we tried a lot of different systems.

One day Jeremy and I were walking down the streets as we often did and we were discussing the things we liked and didn't like about various game systems. We were mentioning things we would like to see in a role playing system and discussing how we all tended to modify the hell out of all the systems we played.

We suddenly decided "Why don't we make our own?" I know there were other people involved in this initial discussion and some of the early decisions we made, but it primarily ended up being just Jeremy and I. Family members would get involved in play testing, and some family and friends at the time contributed art, etc.

Now we were young, a bit confused about trademarks, copyrights, etc. We were also a tad bit paranoid about such things. We decided maybe we shouldn't use the traditional Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, Intelligence, Wisdom, Charisma type attribute names that Dungeons & Dragons introduced. We were worried about being sued. Now many years later there are so many examples of that we likely would have been safe.

We chose Vigor, Agility, Endurance, Acumen, Common Sense, Influence, Wyrd, and Attractiveness. Attractiveness we would consider later not really being a necessary thing as it could simply be an advantage or disadvantage rather than an attribute.

We were not anti-chart as many people may be, but we did want most of what the players needed to be right there on their character sheet and we wanted detail, a lot of options, and flexibility. The Game Master or as we called them the Tale Weaver would of course consult many charts and other things as they ran the game.

We did come up with some unique ideas. It was never completed, but there are large amounts of work into it and some ideas I still have not seen elsewhere. I would like to preserve it. I am going to post a series based upon #taleweaver that will present the rules, notes, art, etc for this game system. My hope is that it may interest some people, and it may illicit conversation.

It may also give some ideas for things people may want to incorporate into whatever games they happen to be running. I know many of my followers may not be interested in this topic, but I am interested in a lot of different things. I did speak with Jeremy Greene and he was fine with me putting Tale Weaver on Steemit. He told me to let him know if it got over $500 and then we might talk splitting the profits.

It will take a bit as these are often in old text formats so I'll have to reformat and write a lot of these, so as far as layout a lot of it will be completely new in appearance.

Also, I did search and I see there is now a Tale Weaver studios. They have no relation to this product. This is something that we began working on more than two decades ago.


Tale Weaver: Version 0.7 - Multi-Genre Role Playing Game System - Play Tester Release - PART 1
Part 2 - Chapter Two: The Persona


Sort:  

An interesting read. Am sure that it will do good here.

Glad that you will be sharing this game with us @dwinblood! Will follow your posts! Steem ON! I love to play pen and paper games, especially sea battle. These games are more personal and help to bond with people much more than online games do.

Wish you best of luck!

This is really cool. I still have a desire to make my own system but at the same time I'm a huge fan of Call of Cthulhu and 5th edition Dungeons and Dragons.

I tried making a system based in a historical setting in the Sengoku period of Feudal Japan. Then I switched it to a historical setting in Anglo-Saxon England. Maybe some day I'll revisit it.

The system I was building was brutal though. Dying was super easy to happen so it wasn't like D&D where you can just carelessly rush into combat. You need to resolve things outside of combat or be sure that you can win in the system.

Looking forward to this here and what you make. The fun part I had, since I'm an artist, was making art for my game.

Well once I post this... if people like it. Perhaps we can finish it here and have a new open source game system. I know there are such things, but this one would be here on steemit. Art is always inspiring for such projects. I have a lot of material for this, but we did never complete it and there are big holes.

This is actually pretty cool, i would like to see something like this take shape, either online or physical the idea behind it is actually pretty clever

It was largely unfinished but it had quite an interesting foundation. If I post it here maybe it will yet live.

dang, i missed so much on Steemit...

"Common Sense" as attribute made me chuckle quite a bit.

As young players people knowing the difference between Wisdom and Intelligence was often a task. :) Common Sense seemed a little more... well "common". :) We were also pretty young when we started that project relatively speaking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79