Can we please enforce flags for tag-abuse ?

in #tag-abuse7 years ago (edited)
Flagging a post can remove rewards and make this material less visible. 
Some common reasons to flag:

- Disagreement on rewards
- Fraud or Plagiarism
- Hate Speech or Internet Trolling
- Intentional miscategorized content or Spam

Flags are a somewhat hot topic and some people get extremely mad and go on rants about it, flag back and generally seem to be allergic to flags.

I think it's a necessary tool to enforce some rules on Steemit.

The tag # introduceyourself is being used by new accounts to get their first post noticed, where they introduce themselves.
When an established user repeatedly uses the tag, I think that's intentional miscategorizing of content.

I have warned a few people and most of them want to drag it out into a long discussion.

I'm sick of it ...

I don't think it's a job for @steemcleaners, or is it ?

I believe someone has to step up.
I don't want to go ahead and flag this by myself, because I'm afraid of retaliation.

Can we please discuss this and maybe come up with a policy ?

Sort:  

Yes its up to us the users, especially those that hold any significant voting power to ensure that people play by the rules. I prefer warning with a not so harsh comment first but if I see that these people are doing as they wish and please to try and reap the rewards the fast way they get a flag from me.

Please don't use #introduceyourself more than once.

This was my friendly -not so harsh- comment.

Hmmm, there is only one way to remedy this...

There are several reasons to use #introduceyourself.. please do not flag for repeated use unless of course it's irrelevant.

Loading...

Good point! There are also some #deutsch tag abusers around. I'm trying to explain them, that the tag is meant for german language content, not for anything related to #germany in the broadest sense... So we really need a #tag-policy that everybody can refer to.

For me it's clear. The #introduceyourself tag exists for introducing yourself and not any other things than that. Period.

Ask 100 people how they see it and you'll see 85 people at minimum sharing this opinion. Period.

If anyone with a high reputation makes a post in that category and the post is not about introducing himself in another language, it's abuse. Period.


Flags should be used if the user does it again after he received a warning.

Try enforcing this and see how people will get mad.

Yes, let's make them mad :) One day I've received a comment for one of my posts that stated I've used the wrong tag, because my post has nothing to do with "art". He was right, I learned, changed the tag and all is fine.

In a game without rules the people will do what they want. If their actions are harmful to the community, there must be some bernies to clean up the shit and point the people to a better way...

Sadly, bernie has been punished by @dan himself the other day.

I'm afraid, he will no longer be around to help policing some of this.

Yo, I've seen it. We all should think about what we want this platform to become. I currently see @dan's flags also as a kind of pointing to a better way. Maybe @berniesanders should make a post with more positive wordings and explain kindly what's the reason for his flags. Many people see the good actions through his massive words and some not. I hope we find a peaceful way that works for all of us.

Bernie has gone through a lot of abuse himself.
With that wallet, I could maybe laugh it off ...

Bernie (one) is gone... Rep -10 ;)

His alt accounts (some) still look strong ...

I understand where you coming from unless it's blatantly obvious the tag doesn't fit the material.. leave it alone

Using the #introduceyourself tag should be continued to be used as long as you have something about yourself to reveal. Lots of us come on to steemit thinking one thing.. learn something else and are left with something completely different.. every now and then we feel like we have to use the #introduceyourself tag to open up for the newer and potential fans and followers.

Unless you're posting something like for example... some religious or spiritual enlightenment type of content .. but you use hashtag, #bukaki .. then you have a point.

So yea, don't get all flag happy for something nor so big a deal

Let me guess: You have used the tag repeatedly :D ?

I have used it several times.. most of which came after hardforks.. one time after I'd been away for a while... or even to promote my other friends I've brought onto steemit.

If I wanted to.. I COULD HAVE used it on these active trending post (not trying to spam but these post could have used the #introduceyourself hashtag)
Revolution Of The Industry - Part 1
Revolution Of The Industry - Part 2

I still think it's established as a tag for absolute newcomers.

This way you can easily find their intro-posts and have a look at the new users.

it is an established tag for introducing yourself... which is why majority of newcomers should use the tag.. as far as being "absolute" then we should go down every hashtag and consider every piece of content for being absolutely for any tag.

Like I said.. I understand the frustration but there are various reasons to use the introduceyourself hashtag, aside from account verification.

now that I think about it... why not make #verification for absolute newcomers?

as far as being "absolute" then we should go down every hashtag and consider every piece of content for being absolutely for any tag.

That could prove to be difficult.
In the case of #introduceyourself though, it would be pretty easy.

very true.. maybe offer an option to newcomers to create a "one time" introduction post that will either have it's own feed

OR

include a symbol of some sort.. like the symbol shows for choosing 100% steem power, when you make a post.

that way.. in the #introduceyourself hashtag... you can easily identify the newcomers from everyone else

Or: just show some commonsense and some manners and don't tag-abuse :P

Sorry, but where does it say in any official steem documentation that the introduceyourself tag is only for newbies and can only be used once? Why couldn't someone come back after being away for awhile and introduce themselves again? Or why couldn't someone who has been around a long time re-introduce themselves again?

You can flag a person if you want, but honestly I think it's a waste of time to be the flag police. Focus on helping people grow, not on punishing people you don't like.

Well .. I'm trying to help the newbies, who deserve getting the appropriate exposure under that tag.

When I tried this once (literally one flag on one post), for the same thing (different tag) months ago, I was essentially attacked by an auto downvoter on every post I made until I removed the flag.

I don't touch the flags anymore. My reputation is important and after that snafu I don't want to risk it. I'll report in chats and stuff, and leave it up to accounts who do that sort of stuff, but not those flags from me anymore. Eesh.

I also heard a lot of, "What gives you the right?" Kind of stuff. Almost drove me away from the platform completely. Those flags are dangerous territory.

This is exactly why I think this sort of policing should be a team effort.

I didnt know its forbidden. Good to know. I am annoid of the abuse of the #deutsch. I search for German articles and half of the posts are in English.

Maybe it would also help if people would stop autovoting for the introduction tags too?

I guess I'm flagging everyone these days. I guess I might as well flag some of this too. However I will stick to trying to nicely steer people away from this behaviour first, then warning, then only flagging blatant repeat offenders.

I don't want to go ahead and flag this by myself, because I'm afraid of retaliation.

The only people large enough to not fear retaliation are the ones with no time for low-level policing.

Even good old bernie got revenge-flagged the other day ( by dan ) :D

There is a good amount of automated votes going towards #introduceyourself.
I think repeatedly using the tag is an attempted exploit.

If you see good reason to flag my material - go ahead ...
I'd prefer you go after intentionally miscategorized content, though.

If you see good reason to flag my material - go ahead ...
I'd prefer you go after intentionally miscategorized content, though.

"This" was not referring to your post, LOL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87