Steemit D&D 5e Online Game / Call to action

in #tabletop-rpg6 years ago (edited)

()

Back in the later 80's / early 90's we use to play D&D on the BBS networks.
The DM would write a post and all the players would respond with their moves.
The posts were done once a day.

I am proposing playing a D&D 5e campaign here on Steemit. I am looking for input on how to make it work.

My initial thoughts are, I would run it as the DM. We get a party of 4 players. We use the post / reply method. This would allow the postings to be an ongoing journal of the adventure so any new (readers??) would be able to catch up on the campaign.

Readers/ Observers could upvote players responses as a way to reward them for their participation. They could also respond and give input on what they feel the character should do.

If a player does not reply during a turn (daily post) the DM would make the play for that player.

Any one interested ???

Let me know.

It was a blast when we played before.

Sort:  

I don't know how well that would go, but if you need a player I wouldn't be opposed to it. There's a lot of logistics to figure out though. How would you keep the campaign moving at a steady pace? How will players work off of and with each other? Will combat still be initiative based or will it be more along the lines of the groups taking turns in the interest of streamlining? What if someone misses a day for whatever personal reasons?

Since you've done this before you might have solutions that seem obvious to you, but they aren't to me. This is something that everyone would have to get into a group chat to decide on some ground rules.

I agree. I was not clear on some things that are obvious to me. let me try and answer some of your questions.

  1. How to keep the campaign moving at a steady pace ?
    -The campaign will move forward daily.

  2. How will players work off of each other.
    - We use to use private messages on the Bulletin Boards. For Steem I see one player posted their reply to the main thread and the other players posting replies to that one. (This will be the biggest thing for players to get use to, but creates some interesting events)

  3. Combat has to be streamlined.
    Example: The party runs across 4 goblins and the mage is out front (no idea why). This is how it would go.

    Main Post: As you exit the tunnel you see some reinforcements have arrived, in the form of four goblins with spears rushing towards you and pointing.

    Mage Player (reply to post) I raise my arm and fire Magic Missles at Lvl 2, and pull out my magical dagger +1 to finish off any goblins.

    DM Reply to Player post: The magic Missles burn through 3 of the goblins and they have to the ground with a look of shock on their faces. The final missile slams into the left shoulder of the 4th goblin. He screams a blood curdling scream and dives forward. You side step the spear and swing your dagger through his throat ending the noise.
    You look at dagger and realize you have no cloth to clean it.

  4. If someone misses a day due to personal reasons, The DM will run the character's turn trying to keep in character for that player and doing what is best for the party.

Hope that helps.

I would love to have you as a player now we need at least 2 more.

You might want to use a system like Symbaroum, which is streamlined in comparison to D&D. You can pretty easily adapt it to the setting if you need.

Alternatively, if you'd like to use Hammercalled (the game we're working on), I'd be happy to work on making it fit a PBP format for you.

Sounds great. I would love to use Hammercalled.
Any chance you could help send some players my way ?
Or any type word of mouth would be awesome.

Thanks for reaching out

Sadly, I have no players to send (none who use steem, at least).

However, you can get all the stuff for Hammercalled here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/c0kpbz246y2thkf/Hammercalled%20Rules%20Reference.pdf?dl=0

It's something of a different animal than D&D in some ways, but it is built to run fast (combat should take 1-3 rounds, unless people decide to string it out, one roll for pretty much everything outside combat).

This iniciative is really cool, I would like to participate, please tell me how can I help to make this happen, cheers.

Alright you are in. I will send out a post soon introducing the game. Please reply to that one with the character you are going to play.
Follow me to watch for it. I will also reply on here with a link to the post.

Congratulations @simplegame! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59220.04
ETH 2316.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51