You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Swordmaking details. The straight and narrow

in #sword6 years ago

Oh man, and here I was thinking I have a rough time straitening my knives. I can't imagine doing something as long as a sword.

Nice jig BWT I use two methods: 1st basically the same as your jig I just use three big bolts, 2nd I clamp the knife in second tempering circle to a straight bar with a washer on the apex of the bend.
The second one is less stressful on the blade but you have almost no control since you don't know what will come out from the owen.

Sort:  

well you do the sword in portions so it is not that different from a knife. the wood jig is fine but i want to make one out of metal like yours because it does burn a little sometimes. i have bought some round stock that i am going to weld to a rail.

I'll have to make a jig soon because the way I do it is I spend most of my times looking for one of the bolts, as one of them seems to be a prankster and is always hiding :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64561.21
ETH 3418.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57