Day 0 - Introductions

in #swift7 years ago

Hey there!

This is my first blogpost as well as my first blog. Here I will post about my journey of becoming a swift developer. * Let's all hope I make it. *

First off, let me introduce myself. I am "the Swift Apprentice".
I just finished my bachelor's degree in business information Systems. While this is great, I now have to choose a way for my future. * Feels kind of late... * That's where swift comes into play. My final project during my studies was to write an app. Since I live in an Apple world, I did so with Xcode and Swift. After three months of work, it was the first bigger swift project I did by myself. Needless to say, it was bad coding and bad design. However, I was very proud and had a lot of fun.

That's where I decided, that this is what I want to do in my future.
BUT: Since I have no experience in iOS or mobile application design, I am having a hard time to find even a junior position. So, I will use my free time to get better. This blog is supposed to keep me motivated and hopefully give others like me some inspiration.

To start off with, I think about posting once a week about what I have done to achieve my goal. These posts are not supposed to be any kind of tutorial. I will simply talk about my thoughts and struggles.

NOTE: This is not any kind of success story of some lucky fellow, or some kind of genius. You might as well see me fail in my attempt.
Right now, I work a 9h day as dev/second level support, bored out and underpaid.

I am happy about any kind of comment.

Structure:

  • Post once a week about what I did
  • Blog of choice: steemit
  • Notifications and status updates via twitter
  • Publishing and working on my projects on GitHub

My Goal:

Let's try to be SMART about it and use what we have learned.
My goal should be specific, measurable, achievable, relevant and time-bound.

So, let's say: By the end of 2018 I want to be a better iOS developer by building up my portfolio.

Specific: To be more specific with this goal, I will have to cut it into pieces. This will also help with being measurable. By the end of 2018 I want to have at least one bigger project in my portfolio as well as 4 smaller ones. This will give me 4 moths for the big and 4*2 month for the smaller projects.

Measurable: By having these projects to show, I can link the success of my goal to them.

Achievable: Even with the little time I have during the week, two months for a small and four month for a bigger project should be plenty of time.

Relevant: By building a portfolio, I not only learn new skills, but also can show them to potential employers or clients. Without anything to show, there is almost no chance in landing a job as iOS developer.

Time-bound: Obviously one year 31.12.2018

Good, this should get me started.

Up next:

Figure out what the first project is to be.

...so lets get Schwifty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.40
ETH 2350.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40