How iOS Development saved me from being broke

in #swift6 years ago (edited)

About 4 years ago I begun my journey on self taught iOS Development making iPhone Apps with Objective-C at the time and now Swift. Little did I know at the time how big the impact would be on my life.

At the beginning of this year I had to get surgery, whilst it wasn’t critical it has had a big impact on my day to day life. Unfortunately only a small part of this was covered by healthcare. The rest had I had to pay out of pocket. To give you an idea of how much this was, I pretty much had a sizeable house deposit saved up for Sydney.

Now Sydney is an expensive place.

sydneyhouse.jpeg

A house like this can run up past 1 million dollars in many parts of Sydney

Now, in the period from 4 years ago up until the beginning of the year I had either saved all my money made from iOS App Development and my online courses I teach. The only time I spent it was to reinvest in my iOS App Dev ventures (New microphone, camera, etc.. for my YouTube Chanel)

It wasn’t a lot of money I made every month, but it was beer money. And if you don’t spend this it adds up to a neat sum over 4 years. Thanks to this I still had some sort of savings for day to day life and emergency expenses.

dominos.jpeg

Small things have a big impact

Thankfully my tax return and monthly pay came a few weeks in after and I was back in a good place.

However what resonated with me is that in those weeks if I had not begun my journey on iOS App development those 4 years ago is that I would have had $0 to my name.

All of this was self taught, self done whilst juggling full time workload and university studies over the years. It was an eye opening event and one that has given me even more motivation.

How have hustles had a major impact on your life?

Check out my:
Website
Youtube Channel
iOS Course

Sort:  

@seemu, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Congratulations @seemu! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51