Battle of Ideas

in #sweden5 years ago

Today I was attending the "Battle of Ideas" that took place in Stockholm at Kulturhuset (Culture house). This event takes place every year and gathers opinion-makers from UK and Sweden. So I went to debate about immigration and citizenship in order to cheer for liberal Fredrik Segerfeldt in debate against left wing oriented David Goodhart. One of my favorite statements by Fredrik was "I am in favour of free movement on the global scale". This is important to fight for if we want to live in a world with less poverty and repression, in world with more wealth and human security.

P.S - my t-shirt is from UK and part of the Bremain campaign. The term "liberal elite" is often used as a negative and curse word but I want to use it as positive and optimist term.

Sort:  

Let strangers you know nothing about in and get rid of your guns. I hope you treat your front door better than you treat the borders. #brainless

How do you mean? I would not compare my own flat or house to country or border. Because it is a question of property on one side and a question of polity on other side. Ideas of open or free migration are about interactions between individuals and institutions as companies. Also today "we" know more about people in general thanks to Internet and social media. It is also possible to make it more legal for individuals to migrate since we can have our Self-Sovereign Identity based on the blockchain.

I have liberal (libertarian) views on weapons.

Here is the link for SSI, I am partly involved in it http://www.selfsovereignidentity.eu/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97