You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why The Fuck Is Swearing Fucking Bad?

in #swearing7 years ago (edited)

I swear all the time, I haven't here on Steemit, being a woMAN, I don't know how people would take to me cursing like a sailor. I always say that I curse for the sake of others, because if I didn't, I'd be cutting someone. Lol. I have a son, he's 20 now, and I've cursed in front of him his whole life. We had talks, and I told him that I understood that when he was with his friends, that they would talk probably worse than I did, as long as he never disrespected his father or I, it didn't matter to me... and now he's an adult and a typical conversation between us always involves at least a couple F-bombs. And I've seen what you've referred to about about them wanting to erase the word "man" from our vocabulary, did you see they want to change the name of Manhattan?? The world has officially gone mad. It makes me ask "What the fuckin' fuck??" Lol

Sort:  

Lol, Manhattan. What would they call it? Manatee, manhole, Manitoba, man, woman, human, Manchester.... the list goes on and on. All those words should be eliminated, I guess.

I think kids will always swear amongst each other - idiomatic swearing. It's for them to know when there will be negative consequences whether it's swearing or not that's important. I know I swore a lot with friends, but I knew when to hold back too. Some people don't learn that.

It's insane to me that we live in a time when the word "man" is offensive. The woman that was on the show was asked about woman, and she says don't call me a woman, call me a person... but I guess in a society where we can identify as a hippo if we want to, that's to be expected.
You're right, some people won't exercise cursing etiquette, there's a place and a time, and some just don't care, but I see too that respect isn't as important as it once was, and I think that kinda goes hand in hand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59204.66
ETH 2526.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52