You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why The Fuck Is Swearing Fucking Bad?

in #swearing7 years ago

IMO swearing to get attention or to aggravate others who profess not to cuss is an exercise of needy people. Swearing can be an artistic use of metaphors to embellish or emphasize a feeling. Swearing, again by needy people, can be used to compensate for a limited vocabulary.

Sort:  

For sure, there are certainly people who swear just to get attention or to cause a disturbance. They probably didn't learn when to properly swear or, like you said, they don't have the vocabulary to properly express themselves. Screaming at the top of your lungs will also get people's attention, I suppose.

I think swearing can be a tool just like a hammer and you should learn how to use it just like any other tool. Swinging a hammer wildly and smashing your thumb every third swing or taking your time and hitting the nail squarely and accurately produces the same kind of opinion from people. They'll think your an idiot and you shouldn't have access to the hammer or they'll think you're good with a hammer and want you to build them something.

Thanks for the comment

Thank you for the reply and the upvote. I like your hammer analogy to destroy or to build. I've heard it used to describe religion too. My children swear in certain circumstances and turn it off when it will diminish their credibility as intelligent people. We recently invited my wife's parents to come and live with us. Actually her dad passed away last week. When my wife swore in front of them, as they sat with shocked looks on their faces, I assured them that when they gave her to me she did not swear. I corrupted her. I own what a should own : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59204.66
ETH 2526.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52