India's switched-at-birth babies who refused to swap back

in #swap7 years ago

It is like the plot of a Bollywood film.

First, two babies are born within minutes of each other and then accidentally switched at birth in the hospital.

Second, they are from very different backgrounds. One set of parents is tribal Hindu, the other Muslim.

The twist? After a long battle with the authorities, the DNA tests finally come through two years and nine months later... and the toddlers refuse to leave the parents who have raised them.

On Wednesday the couples head to court to confirm that they will bring up each other's children.

The story is from the north-eastern Indian state of Assam.

Shahabuddin Ahmed says he took his wife, Salma Parbin, to the Mangaldai Civil Hospital at 06:00 on 11 March 2015 and that she gave birth to a boy an hour later. As it was a normal delivery, she was discharged the next day.

"A week later, my wife told me, 'This baby is not ours.' I said, 'What are you saying? You shouldn't talk like this about an innocent child'. But my wife said there was a Bodo tribal lady in the labour room and 'I think our babies have been switched'. I didn't believe her, but she kept insisting."

Salma Parbin says she suspected from the beginning that Jonait was not her real baby.

"When I saw his face, I had doubts. I remembered the face of the other woman in the labour room and he resembled her. I could make out from his eyes. He's got small eyes, no-one in my family has eyes like that," she told me._99663502_img_7548.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60795.60
ETH 2627.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58