You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Vision Quest Week 13

in #svq6 years ago

Good stuff Fishy! Esp. "It has to be healthy, it uses Himalayan salt and apple cider vinegar!" 😂 just kidding. It's the philosophy that I love 😉 i do wonder though, maybe beliefs are a bunch of external mumbo jumbo that get in our way!! Maybe it would be better to relate to what we know? What do you know? (Ps. I was recently posed these queries. It comes from a course I am working on called 'Charting your course through the Medicine Wheel' paradigm shifting stuff) Much love! I hope you succeed in the Vision Quest!! ❤

Sort:  

Oh, I agree belief is dangerous territory, but there are times when we simply do not have all the facts and we must act. Choosing to treat our beliefs as if they were as good as or better than facts is where you fall down, IMO. You come t a T in the road, you believe the city is to your left but you are not sure. You have no map or GPS, you are not going to sit there and wait until someone comes and erects a sign, you are going to act on your belief. If you drive for 15 miles and know the city was only ten miles away, it is time to turn around. Or, you can swear that your belief was based on "following God" and so to turn back is to deny God and you just keep on driving...
OK, oversimplified, but you get my point I am sure lol!

I got ya 😉 And, it makes sence. Though I wonder, is there room for the workings of the great mystery in that line of thinking? The amazed but not surprised type of happenings? Beliefs can cloud that, can't they? I guess your approach would be a more functional one? Which is valuable. But, I tend to meander into the fringe. Maybe too much. Getting caught in piles of rubbish without even realizing it and still bringing up the golden ring time and again.

Beliefs are where magic can happen, but you have to believe something that has some basis in fact or your belief will lead you astray. It is necessary to fall back on faith, if you ONLY act on facts you will be paralyzed pretty quickly. But knowing the difference between what I believe versus what I KNOW is absolutely critical to keep moving toward greater knowledge and greater wisdom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43