Steemit Vision Quest Contest 2 (gif animation): NIGHT FLIGHTsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #svq6 years ago (edited)

20180210_101128.jpg

The idea of 'Night Flight' made me think of the nocturnal world, and the duality of life - When humans are busy, an under world of creatures is silently resting. And when we go to sleep, the other world springs to life.

project_1518123783305.gif

The duality of Life in an infinite cycle.
Even you, owl, are a sweet gentle feathered creature, in daylight's secret rest. And who becomes fierce, piercing through the darkest hours.

I made this gif animation for @cabelindsay's Vision Quest

The Process

I took a screenshot of the vision quest owl, with the idea of changing day and night:

20180209_083209.png

Using a phone app I started playing with recently, I traced a cartoon of the owl, duplicated the frame and added colours:

project_1518087637855.gif

I added sleeping eyelids, and duplicated the 2 frames (awake and sleeping). Then it was a case of adding colours from sunrise to night.

project_1518166680598.gif

Day Dreaming!

Sort:  

Awesomely adorable. I just hope they're not addictive! ;) I feel like I could stare at them for hours, and eventually I imagine that owl would peck out my eyeballs. lol. Thank you for this ultra-cute entry in the Steemit Vision Quest.

Wishing you a brilliant and beautiful future.

Yes definitely addictive! I think owls are pretty hypnotic creatures anyway. I have often stopped what I'm doing to get a longer view of a white barn owl who visits sometimes. Majestic and lethal little hooters, im sure it would peck out your eyeballs if it had the chance, so keep 'em closed at night! x

I've always admired the barn owls in particular, probably because of their heart-shaped faces. The feather you see in the SVQ posts is a barn owl feather. I found the owl by the side of the road on a recent road trip, in Colorado, so I brought her home and honored her life with a proper burial. I'm told that the feathers hold the Spirit of the bird, as long as they stay intact, and so there's a lot of energy in them. Ideally, women hold the feathers of owls, I'm told, so I have some important Work to do, finding homes for a few special plumes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79