Steemit Vision Quest: One Love / Love One

in #svq6 years ago (edited)

I missed 2 weeks of SVQ while we were travelling, and I almost missed this week also. I did not want to be too much of a downer, I hope I found a somewhat uplifting twist to what is in my heart. The prompt "One Love" made me think of my husband, and all good husbands. These days it seems man-bashing is very popular sport and it is tragic to me. My husband is not a perfect man but he is the best manifestation of God I have in my life. My husband loves me even when I screw up, even when I am moody, bitchy, and just plain wrong... He forgives my every sin, he comforts me when I am sad or afraid. Sure, he is a perfect ass sometimes too but not very often and when he is, that is MY chance to step up and be the little Goddess in his life and love him in spite of his flaws. It is my belief that this is the WHOLE point of marriage, to teach us to love ONE person as close to perfectly as a human can muster. Then we have kids, and we learn to love them, and they have friends that we come to love, and they have children that we love even more... A good marriage is the wellspring from which the love of the One freely flows.

So why the dark tone? Because two friends have become widows this spring. Neither of the men were cut down "in their prime" but they were both relatively young. My heart breaks for these women who now must fight to keep from falling into despair, and wage that battle without their rear-guard. I ask you to hold these women in your hearts with me as you read this, and offer a little prayer for their peace in this difficult time.

The Cosmos was empty when it had a notion
To bring order from chaos; sort land from ocean
Separate light from dark and below from above.
When it saw Creation, Universe first felt love.

Now humble dirt was infused with both form and breath
And life came to exist, along with it came death.
Our time in Creation is a very short dance
To experience love, it is our only chance.

When the music stops playing, our hearts cease to beat,
It is too late for us to begin the great feat.
Only the living can choose to reach out their hand
By word and gesture show love toward our fellow man.

It is easy to fall into anger and fear,
But they can not bring comfort when death is so near.
When you decide to let your heart shine like the sun
You manifest Perfect Love, Created by One.

Janet and Ed

www.kizoa.com_mng 005.jpg
This is a pretty bad photo taken with my Fuji FinePix S8300 on the day I met Janet and Ed. I was running a campaign for Sheriff and they were among the most stalwart supporters of the candidate.

Sheila and Joe

31693170_10155341300606073_3314248454972112896_n.jpg
(This photo was taken from Sheila's facebook page.)
Sheila and I went to High School together for about 10 minutes. Long story... We have not really stayed in close touch, so I had never even met Joe. What I could see, plain as day, is that he put a smile on her that lit up her soul. She had a tough childhood, she was a little cold and hard sometimes. Joe softened her, made her glow.

May Ed and Joe rest in peace, and may Janet and Sheila find comfort in the love with which you filled their lives.

Sort:  

A good marriage is the wellspring from which the love of the One freely flows.

What a beautiful way to say it. I appreciate you for setting such a lovely tone in the beginning of this vision. This way, I can really feel the sorrow in these losses here, as the widowed women deal with their partners' passages. And your poem, whoa. Wow. Weeee! Yes. Aho.

I sat with an elder in a tipi once, and listened to his variation of the Creation story. He expressed it similarly to your poem here, with the sun reaching the water and creating life. Visually, the heart shape is like the blending of circles and drops, somehow embodying the spirit of sun, earth, and water, so I believe there's divinity in these symbols and the way you're seeing them.


We celebrate your Creative Spirit, and we appreciate your entry in Steemit Vision Quest.

May you receive all you seek.

Welcome home! And thank you, as always, for your gentle words and deep understanding. You always manage to give me more to chew on, on my own posts lol! Hugs!

Awesome content!
You got a Resteem and a 50.00% upvote from @cleansingpoetry courtesy of @poetsunited!

Send 0.05 SBD / Steem to place your bid and get an Upvote and Resteem.

This service is provided by Steemit @poetsunited Community.

Delegate to this Bot to get a share from the daily profits.
To delegate use 50SP 100SP 250SP 500SP 1000SP

These ladies are young! So very sad. Hate to hear this. I like how you've pointed out that even in the best of relationships neither party is perfect. We all have our inherit flaws

I often joke how it must have sort of sucked to be Mary, married to Jesus... Can you imagine being married to a man who REALLY IS always right?!

Oh my. No, I cannot!

Yes it can be tough to lose a Spouse. Just don't know how people do it. But sooner or later we all ( who are married) will experience it.

Thanks for this post @fishyculture

Perhaps the saddest thing I ever saw was my mother after losing my dad. 54 years together, she was devastated to say the least. I don't really pray much, but when I do it is usually for us to go together. He has been my crutch and ladder since I was 17...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63