Steemit Vision Quest: Desert Wilderness - Animated Drawings

in #svq6 years ago (edited)

When I read the theme for this Steemit Vision Quest contest, I immediately tied it to loneliness, but a kind of loneliness that not only means the absence of others but also of ourselves. The loss of one’s own identity and essence, this hole in which you cannot recognize what you’ve become, when you lose the trace of how you were, looked and knew yourself.

Standing on the perspective of this profound loneliness where the character sees himself trapped, apparently without any exits or hope, the following is a monologue of an agonizing being that is inside a depression infused by for his missing capacity of forgiveness and his contradiction towards himself and his beliefs. A being that when being unable to find himself, he clusters. Here is his misery.

Desert Wilderness


Desert Wilderness


There isn’t breeze that touches my skin
Nor whisper that reaches my ears.
I see my footsteps and question
What have I built?


When seeing an unknown reflection
My own image is an illusion
How many thigs have I lost?
Until I lost myself


My feet burn beneath the flares of the sun
Trapped while no one listens
A sea of memories peeps out
Sublime oasis of abandonment


Just like you come you go
And it’s loneliness an everlasting desert
In my madness I don’t know what is real
Being buried in the inhospitable


My being, far away from yours, from anybody's
Awakes and only want to redeem itself
In an attempt of waiting without hope
The breath comes back painfully.


In order to make the drawings I based on various original photos that I’ve taken and others have taken of me. The portrait was made by my friend Isis Nieto (you can follow her in Instagram as @isisg__). All others are my own.

2018-03-03 06.39.44 1.jpg

Here you can see all the process, the original photos, sketches and then the ultimate work. Also want to thank my friend @raqquel for helping me improve the quality of the drawings.
I later put the drawings on a scanner to digitalize them, and lastly corrected them with some editing programs for the betterment of the colours.

LRM_EXPORT_20180303_171718.jpg


Once again I thank @cabelindsay and @eaglespirit for providing this intiative as an opportunity to display the work of a diversity of creative minds.

Thanks for reading!



You can follow me on
Instagram: @cronosclocks
Facebook: Oriana Peñalver Fotografía

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51