You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Vision Quest 18: The Dance

in #svq6 years ago

Nice post @fishyculture! In the grand scheme of things we humans are really insignificant and it arrogant of us to think otherwise. It boggles the mind when you think of just how complex the universe is. I don't know about you, but I remember talking about the solar system in the early years of my education when Jupiter had 7 moons, wait, is that 9 or 11? Pluto was but a small frozen planet and now the poor thing has been demoted to a planetoid! My how things change the more we learn and explore...

Sort:  

My mother once made a comment that had an incredible impact on me... Humanity struggled at a meager survival level for generation after generation. What happens in one lifetime now would appear to be magic to any of our ancestors from the past 2000 years. My grandmother rode in a horse and buggy, and flew in an airplane. My mother herself was told men could never reach the moon because they would die of old age before they got there, then watched men walk on the moon. (Or not, a topic for another day... lol!) My personal one is in 9th grade I got to work on one of the first computers to go into a public school for the students to use. It was MONSTROUS, took up a full room. You had to fill out these little cards that took three marks for each symbol. It was tedious to get the most simple equation ready for the computer. "2+2=x" would require I take a card, fill a bubble box in, write a "2" up top for my reference and "1" in the page box to keep the cards in order. Same for the plus sign, the next 2, the equal sign, the x, then one for "run." If I had a stray mark or incompletely filled a box, the computer just spit it out with an "error" message. No hint where or what kind of error. Understand I was in advanced math classes, I was filling out long algebraic formulae, not 2+2... I HATED that machine! I would listen to the math teachers gush about how fortunate we were while wishing the whole thing would just melt down every time I used it. And now, look at this world, look at me... I carry a computer in my pocket that is unimaginably more powerful than that old beast. And I still have many years to watch it unfold, I think... I hope... lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36