You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fact-Checking Suzie Dawson

in #suzi3d6 years ago

Whitney,

  • using terms like "Suzie deliberately.." undermines your arguments. You can't ascribe intent. You simply have no proof of it. You can't know what others perceptions are. You don't know others thoughts or reasonings, so to ascribe intent is assumption. This is the same issue with what you did with The Intercept and Greenwald. You ascribed intent without any proof that it existed, as Glenn pointed out to you.

  • saying "I was generalising" repeatedly is cover for you simply not knowing better re what had actually been published, which was my point. That can be fixed by research. It wouldn't have been hard for you to study what documents had been released and when, its all in the public domain.

  • the accusation that I omitted part of your quotes is false, I quoted the precise timestamps & linked the interview so that anyone could listen to/watch the full thing. If I was committing an act of subterfuge I wouldn't have been so detailed in the referencing. The parts in between did not change the fact that you were linking Booz Allen Hamilton to the Snowden releases in a way that suggested they were connected.

  • you say that I have left out Julian validating the point re Intercept... this is not true, my article acknowledges that

  • personalising "idiots" to "idiot" in a tweet not directed to you, and "fool" which was said colloquially, without disclosing your prior, multiple hyper-aggressive tweets towards me over a span of weeks, "put up or shut up" etc etc is a very lop-sided depiction... I blocked you for both our sakes, as it was obvious the incessant bad vibes were going to keep coming no matter what, and wanted to put an end to it. I don't regret that choice.

You repeatedly egged me on to outline my grievances with your reporting, I did so, and now you are desperate to debunk them. I understand why, but as they say there are two sides to every story, this goes for those you report about as well as yourself.

I am entirely sympathetic with the fact that you are an enthusiastic writer juggling challenging domestic duties with pursuing your interests, but I would advise you not to push your personal opinions through Mintpress too much (as is happening on the Mintpress accounts as we speak) and to not take it so personally when someone disagrees with your work. I'm sure you will say 'but my editor is cool with it', however trust me, its a really good life lesson not to use your professional affiliations/organisations to wage battles. I mean that as a sincere piece of advice.

As I've repeatedly stated, the bulk of the work Mintpress does is very credible and I am proud of the work I did there too.

All the best,
Suzie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64