How To Grow Your Own Highbush Blueberries

This type of Blueberry bush grows successfully in Zones 4 - 10. Doing some research on each of the following varieties available will ensure which are best suited for you particular zone. I am a zone 6 here in Western, NY and our climate is perfect for most varieties.

The average height can range from 2 - 6 feet tall. If you want your bushes to produce a large amount of blueberries, the agricultural department recommends planting more than one variety. This is important for cross-pollination and also helps to stretch out your harvesting season.



Highbush Blueberry Varieties for Northern United States


Zones 4 - 7

  • Earliblue

  • Jersey

  • Misty

  • Northland

  • Patriot

  • Northblue

  • Bluecrop

  • Blueray

    I personally have Bluecrop and Earliblue in my garden. My bushes are only 5 years old and still on the small side. However, I have quite a few berries ripening this year... so excited. The photos in this post are a progressive collection since early spring.



    Highbush Blueberry Varieties for Southern United States


    Zones 7 - 9

  • Blueridge

  • Cape Fear

  • Gulf Coast

  • O'Neil


    Growing Conditions


    Blueberries can be very fussy about the soil conditions. They really do prefer an acidic soil with a lot of decomposed organic matter to keep the soil airy. Testing your soil before you plant a bush is very important, as lowering your soils pH can take up to 6 months to make the correct changes. You are shooting for a pH of 4.5 - 5.2, which is ideal for a happy Blueberry bush. You can add sulfur according to directions to the planting area .

    Mixing a 1/2 cubic foot of peat moss per bush at planting time will help the shallow roots to maintain moisture. They do like well-drained, yet moist soil. Covering the soil with an organic mulch will also help maintain moisture. You could choose to use straw, pine needles or grass clippings for mulching.

    Be sure to water in your newly planted bushes. Continue to offer them at least two good inches of water per week to keep those shallow roots moist. It takes time for a new bush to put down it's roots to become well-established.



    Pruning


    After three to four seasons of growth is the time you will want to examine your bushes. Pruning out the old wood in late winter helps to stimulate young, fruitful branches. This promotes good air circulation, decreases overcrowding and allows for larger, sweeter berries. If you nurture your plants correctly you will be sure to have a sizable crop for years to come.

    Thank you for stopping by my post, I hope you enjoyed learning how to grow blueberries.
    Source-Growing Blueberries
    Until next time, this is Sunscape...

    Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store - Sunscapes Soaps & Soaks
My Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations
My Tweets on Twitter

Sort:  

With blueberries liking such acidity, applying coffee grounds directly into the mulch may help things along as well. I like you mentioned pine needles for mulch. Ive been using pine needles for mulch with other trees, but have been wary of there high acidity they bring. what a great mulch for blueberries. maybe ground/crushed pine needles will speed things up a bit.

Thank you @leesmoketree I love the advice you have given, I had not thought of grinding up the pine needles. I do add coffee sometimes to adjust my acidity. It works wonderfully, I guess I could have added that thought. ;-)

If I recognized them right they're delicious:) I immediately wished to have a basket of them:)

They sure are @inber I love them in everything, smoothies, salads, pancakes, cocktails you name it. :-)

I love then with a giant spoon!:) And my dog too;)

That's quite acidic, almost peat-bog level! I only find lingonberries in the peat bog here though, the bilberries (Vaccinium myrtillus) grow in forests here, but they are different from the American blueberries, I think.

Bon appétit!

Yes I think so too, these are a good sized blueberry and especially because of the crossbreeding.

Oh boy they look so yummy! I miss having blueberry bushes there nothing like picking them and popping them in your mouth.. Enjoy!🌺

I have to agree with you, the berries are starting to ripen and I am so excited. Raspberries are close behind. ;-)

The flower is beautiful. First time see the flower of blueberry.

They are beautiful first thing in the spring. I will post closeups of them in another post

Looking forward to see the photos

Fresh blueberries, so tasty!

I know right, I love them in so many things and they are so good for you. Thanks @moneybags for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86