Sustainable: Support Local Farmers and Local Produce to Stregenthen Local Economies

in #sustainable8 years ago (edited)

These days we have an influx of options when selecting our produce and groceries. A lot of consumers are not aware there's a bustling area of amazing, local and fresh produce.. right down the street from them every week. Visiting my local Farmers Market this week reminded me of why it's so great to buy your local ingredents and food here.

Taste Amazing Real Flavors



Photo by @originate

The types of food and produce you can buy (and sample) are some of the tastiest and freshest available. Have you ever thought about how long your grocery store produce has been sitting there? Every time I visit the Farmers Market the smells alone awaken my senses. Why is that? The produce at farmers markets has been minimally prepossessed and optimal for human consumption.


Nourish Your Body



Photo by @originate

Food you typically find in grocery stores is normally very processed. Supporting farmers markets you are saying "yes" to the our farmers that went through great lengths to make their produce as sustainable as possible. The produce is most likely picked directly before the market and not shipped in containers across the country. The produce from here is isn't grown with pesticides, antibiotics, or pumped with hormones to net larger profits.


Connect with your Community


Photo by @originate

Farmers markets are great fun! Aside from the delicious food it's a great way to meet people in your local community (especially if your new to a city). By talking with the farmers you might even learn tricks to one day start your own Organic Garden.

Sort:  

I sell at a couple farmers markets in my area, All of the markets stipulate that you must grow what you sell. I have seen several vendors get busted by the market managers for buying produce and passing it off as their own, just an FYI for market buyers!! Ask questions! Be an informed buyer and get to know your farmer!

I also believe there always be some slick people that will create profit without producing any groceries or animal goods. It depends of culture, country, the buying power of the people and other things.

The idea of sustaining the local farmers is really great but more importantly be a informed buyer.

I also like to buy vegetables from local farmers. It really tastes different, and I can see where they are growing the plants.
The best would be if I could grow them, but that would takes too much time.

I like the Farmers markets. Great to go with your kids and to explore.

Lancaster City, PA: Has one of the best farmers markets I have ever been to. Went every weekend when I lived there.

Great post, that looks like a lovely Farmers' Market! The produce is so, so much better from local, organic farms. Thanks for sharing!

That's the future. Decentralization means also sustaining local farmers and business not only organizing ourselves "outside" of any state, government or institution.

Buying locally grown produce and growing a bit in the garden is SO rewarding. I didn't know what cherry tomatoes were supposed to taste like until I grew my own!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63