Homemade Dishwasher Detergent Tabs: Spoiler alert -- it didn't go so well!

in #sustainability7 years ago

I found this recipe online somewhere, sadly, I can't recall where, but I gave it a go and while it does work it didn't work very well.

Ingredients I used:

  • 2 cups washing soda
  • 2 cups borax
  • ½ cup coarse salt (can use Epsom salt)
  • ½ cup vinegar

I mixed all of the ingredients together well, it created a very think and crumbly paste and then pressed it into my mold. I used a spoon to make sure it was good and packed in there.

I let dry about 48 hours before removing them and placing them in a sealed tupperware container.

1-11-2018 11-16-15 AM.png

When using them I would add one tab to the dishwasher with about a 1/2 cup vinegar and 1-3 drops of dish soap.

Findings

I found that while most dishes were clean enough to use, they still looked dirty. The dishes would have a slightly white film to them and running them through again wouldn't help. I also had trouble occasionally with it creating too many suds and leaking on to the floor... :( All of this combined with them crumbling into powder within two weeks has me completely turned off of this recipe.

Well, I guess they can't all be winners right? I am hoping to try another batch with another recipe soon, anyone else make their own dishwasher tabs? I'd love to hear your recipe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59189.63
ETH 2650.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42