Small drops make the mighty ocean

in #sustainability6 years ago (edited)
I'm not about to give a lecture on the topic of sustainability and environmental protection, I too, still have much to learn. But the very simple concepts that most schools teach in their own variations of the Good Manners and Right Conduct (GMRC) subject, that is to throw your trash in the proper place and to conserve water.

I'm not going to tell you either about the effects of plastic, and how we should all use paper or other recyclable materials. Not even to practice a zero-waste lifestyle, even I can't do that.

I'm not exactly what you can call a tree hugger, no I don't make my own shampoo and use oil as toothpaste (the benefits of that is numerous however! read about oil-pulling, Ms. Divergent does it - but she also rarely showers so maybe don't do everything she does....or doesn't, in this case), I don't use a wooden toothbrush, and I don't always go organic as much as I want to, there's just not an available job in the UAE market for me to afford such a lavish (and safer) lifestyle.

11960048_413749732152124_6364988811210894989_n.jpg
(The View of the Dumagats - A River headed to the Great Pacific Ocean)
[Brgy. Sitio Masla, General Nakar, Quezon Province]

But the simple act (it's so simple I can't even call it an "effort") of holding onto your garbage until you see the next trash can, or not leaving your water running the whole time you're showering, brushing your teeth, washing the dishes, etc. will help in more ways than you think.

People usually think I'm just one person, what difference will it make? It DOES make a difference, if you think about it, you'll be starting a trend, making people think and be cautious, one day you'll be doing it out of habit and others will soon follow suit - That's what we call the domino effect, one always has to fall first before the others follow. AND! you save money too, if your water bill is not for free but even if it is....you could be depriving yourself, your children and your future generations access to the water you are so nonchalantly wasting.

giphy.gif

Nothing hurts my heart more (for effect lang, but it really does hurt my eyes and ears...and mouth and nose..head, shoulders, knees and toes...knees and toes, char) than seeing a water faucet running and running and running and for no good purpose and seeing people drop their trash wherever they please. A trait that many, not all, Filipinos have taken from the Philippines and into the UAE - I can't remember the number of times I've told someone to please not litter, they're no longer in Manila. (GG nila me)

giphy.gif

Having lived in Manila for five years as a stressed out student and a raketera needing to unwind now and then and tour the wonders of everything outside of Manila is what forced me to become a quasi-sustainability and environmental protection advocate. The Philippines has so much potential if only many, if not all, will try to take care of it.

I'm not singleing out the Filipinos, of course, what triggered this post is our Indian cleaner who for the love of me, will not, and I repeat will not freaking close the faucets while he washes the dishes of the managers after lunch. He just leaves it running in the sink while he does other tasks - ie, cleaning the mess hall, using his phone, walking around slowly and has even rolled his eyes at me every time I take the liberty to close it for him thinking...he must've just forgotten because WHO DOES THAT?????

But apparently...many do, so here's my little piece of domino hoping that it causes a wave of action then we can all feel like mini-superheroes for making mother earth breathe a little lighter, we only have one Earth, my friends, let's take care of it.

535157_468467620013668_6725014228645636866_n.jpg

(Sustainable Development - development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.)

[Holi Festival 2015, MOA, Pasay, Philippines]

One little step won't hurt you - do it for your future minions and if you don't want to have kids, that's okay too, do it for your 80-year-old self - you still need to shower!

Alagaan natin ang ating Pilipinas, ang ating mundo, atin ito.

Webp.net-resizeimage (1).jpg

(and remember, that we are not the sole inhabitants of this Earth, they deserve what we do, too)
[Tarsier Sunctuary Rd, Corella, Bohol, Philippines]

Love and light,

Sarah, the ____ :)

All photos taken by me

Sort:  

Very well said sandra, in our own little way, we can contribute save our mother earth.

Sarah po hehe, thank youu!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.47
ETH 3134.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39