Mending

in #sustainability6 years ago

Husband busted the knee out of his work pants on Friday, so I had to hustle through a mend today. If we bought new every time he ripped his jeans, we'd be so broke. I've already machine darned the crotch gusset and hand-darned a small tear in the front pocket. If you look at the far photo, you can see them despite the poor photo quality.

These are a pair of Duluth Trading Co. firehose pants. Great marketing convinced us to check out their store, and we were impressed with the crotch gusset and the feel of them when they were new. They aren't surviving well, however, after only five months of wear. (every day, granted, but still.)

I forgot to take process photos. The gist it, I cut a patch from an old pair of jeans I've been using to fix his for a while. I sewed the edges, then zig-zagged across the patch, with extra zags on the tear itself. Other than trying to fit the pant leg on the machine, it's kind of relaxing – especially since work pants don't have to be pretty.

If anyone has suggestions for durable work pants for men with thick thighs, please share!

20180415_124205.jpg20180415_124158.jpg

Sort:  

I recommend trying thick, raw denim if you haven't already. Its what I wear to work, and they seem to hold up well despite how hard I am on them. I get levis original cut "shrink to fit". The raw denim is uncomfortable and stiff until it is broken in, but afterwards you have a true fit, perfectly personalized to you. Also, only wash jeans when they get really dirty, not every wear, and they will last much longer. Hope this helps!
max2.JPG

I wear raw, and love love love them, but I'm so scared to buy them for Husband! I'd hate to drop $300 and see him bust the crotch out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57485.95
ETH 2901.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67