You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is the West 'Dying' from Lower Fertility Due to 'Intelligence'?

in #sustainability8 years ago (edited)

I need to get some sleep but wanted to comment on:

More "intelligent" people tend to have less children than less intelligent people, in general (not that it means they have an accurate perspective on their own society's way of life to see where things are going, or what is flawed, wrong, etc.).

I have been through a few arguments and discussion with my gf about starting a family. I have had been getting my life back on track from past mistakes and assessed the situation both my gf and I are in. I do not see it morally right to start a family when not in a position to provide properly for a child.

Sort:  

That is being responsible. Don't do things unless you can do it properly. So many people just follow biological programming and motivations and don't rationally contemplate what they are dong. Having a child is a big responsibility and having the means to raise a child are required before having a child.

Or do like Idiocracy, fuck like rabbits... and I guess depend on the welfare? Not a good plan (nor moral), but some people act like lower consciousness nonhuman animals and just follow their pleasure drives and instincts... higher order consciousness is lacking.

I was really thinking about that movie when I read the beginning of your post..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68462.20
ETH 2502.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52