Bug out bag or plan or truck

in #survival7 years ago

What should I bring? I have accumulated so much crap over the years and it all seems necessary if the SHTF but my current horrible plan of backing my truck up and shoveling it in the back needs to be... uh refined or I'll look like this guy

I need a prioritized list from bag to truck in case driving is not possible. And I guess I'll start with what I can carry and I usually apply Maslow's hierarchy of needs. PLEASE help me with your ideas

  1. Pack with water bladder
  2. .22 rifle or AR if I have that built
  3. Hatchet with saw in the handle for one hip
  4. Knife with flint and paracord
  5. Tent
  6. Lighters and dryer lint in a ziploc
  7. Life straw
  8. Slingshot with fishing equipment in the handle
  9. MREs
  10. Pot (cooking kind although the other kind might be good to chill or barter with)
  11. Machete with paracord handle
  12. Garbage bags for poncho and general use
  13. Spare socks, underwear, additional cold or warm clothing
  14. Tarp
  15. Sleeping bag
  16. Medicine/first aid kit
  17. Toothbrush and soap
  18. Swiss army knife
  19. Hand drill, bits
  20. Paracord
  21. Flashlight and headlamp
  22. Survival pocket guide
  23. Hand crank radio with cell charger, cell phone, charger
  24. Duct tape
  25. Wire for snares, etc.
  26. Gold, Silver, Cash, etc.

Now for the truck which I think is the tricky part

  1. Water cubes, grain cubes, and all food stores
  2. 30 gallon fuel tank, and gas cans
  3. Camper or trailer with tractor? I should put a hitch on my camper and test towing both kind of like this guy
  4. Chainsaw
  5. Bow, Crossbow, Guns, Hunting gear, and ammo
  6. Generator
  7. Tools
  8. Bucket Berkey
  9. Blankets and pillows
  10. Goats?

See what I mean?!? This list is getting stupid and I'll have analysis paralysis if I ever do need to scoot. Let me know what you think or any suggestions.

Sort:  

Travel light, do you have family? If not, I'd just take the truck. The quicker you're out of the cityscape and into the wilderness the better. Everything else weighs you down, takes more fuel, and is more noticeable. Also, don't forget your favorite booze and check out some pocket-solar cells!

Just my wife. kids are grown and gone. Good call on the booze... googling pocket-solar cells :-)

When in doubt, pack more goats :)

Do you actually know how to use all of those things? If not, don't bring them.

Yes but I'm by no means an expert and a flint without good dry tinder is nothing more than a spark machine... found that out when i first tried it. I thought when I got flint I got fire like on survivor lol

Heh that's true, especially when no dry material is readily available

Welcome! I followed you. Will you follow me? Also, you make $$ when you respond to comments and upvote. You can upvote your own comments too! It raises you in rank.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50