What self reliance doesn't mean

in #survival7 years ago (edited)

Today even if you don't feel like a crash is coming, many Americans feel like we are headed the wrong way as a nation. With this type of mentality, inevitably the self reliance people come out of the woodwork to display their badassery to the "poor average drudge who wouldn't last one day in the woods". They have more guns and supplies then a zebra has stripes, but they'll be dammed if they'll share it with anyone. And I can tell you that I am personally over it. Other then being super annoying, this mentality is often dangerous as well. Sometimes being alone is great. Sometimes it means you fall down a cliff and have to saw your own leg off to survive, because you were stupid and went hiking alone.

I have just moved into a new place. Its a condo which means I have neighbors. I am thankful to say that everyone I have met so far has been super friendly, welcoming me to the neighborhood and such. It got me thinking on how we as humans need community, and that if you try to go it alone, in a crisis, you'll probably end up failing.

Many times we get this misconception that in the event of any kind of crisis, people are the enemy and we will be living by ourselves or with only a few people in a cabin in the woods, armed to the teeth. While people certainly do suck, a lot of people are simply doing their best to get by, and not interfere in the lives of others. And many people are still willing to help. I was unsure of the garbage pickup, who I could hire to mow my lawn, HOA meetings are and other things. I could have certainly sat in my house, refused to talk to anyone and probably would have eventually figured it all out. But why bother when I can ask the people who already know? I have a few coworkers who live on the other side of the development. I could have picked another place to live, but I feel better knowing they are nearby. In a word, I have community.

The truth is that few Americans can afford to even buy a primary home, much less a bug out location that is hidden and secluded. This means that short of a natural disaster that forces you from your home, you aren't going anywhere when SHTF. You may not even be able to get gas to leave. That's where community comes in. There is not a single person on this planet that can do everything on their own. Even these people you see living by themselves in the woods have to come to town sometime. In a SHTF scenario, at least initially everything will revert back to a barter system. Even a temporary shakeup like the one in 2008 could have people bartering services for a short period of time. That means that you'll need a set of contacts to barter with. And you'll need to know before something happens. During a crisis is not the time to try and get to know which one of your neighbors is cool, and which ones are Looney Toones. You don't have to be a besties, but it is nice to have a community where you are aware of what skills others have. It just never ceases to amaze me how many people think they'll go it alone or with just their family. Learn which one of your neighbors is reliable, and learn to decipher which ones may be a threat. This may mean they guy next door or down the road, but know who your "tribe"is. It could mean your very survival.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43