WTF People

in #survival7 years ago

question.jpg
This is probably not going to be a popular post, but here goes.

You have probably heard about Hurricane Harvey and how it is devastating Houston. People are trapped in and on their homes, texting, tweeting and posting on FB, begging for someone to send help. My heart goes out to them but at the same time I am wondering, WTF People?

There were warnings weeks ago that it was coming, it was stated in no uncertain terms that it was going to be bad. As it got closer warnings escalated from "be prepared" to "get out of Dodge." Heck, I am thousands of miles away, in an area not known for hurricanes (more likely to see an earthquake or tsunami) but those warnings were scary enough that I re-evaluated my emergency plan and even tapped my emergency credit card to stock up on more supplies.

Have we really gotten to the point that individuals can't/don't/won't think for themselves? They relied on the "authorities" to make life-and-death decisions for them. And those authorities made the wrong decision. I am referring to the mayor who said mandatory evacuations weren't needed. Seriously, people, haven't you figured out you can't trust a professional politician?

Apparently not, because it seems you don't even know enough to come in out of the rain.

Sort:  

Well some people probably had no transportation to evacuate. I don't live in an area that is seldom to hurricanes, so I wouldn't know how it works.

They don't own a car so they just sit in their house until they are in danger of losing their lives? That was kind of the point of my post, people need to take responsibility for themselves.

Yes, that's sometimes the only choice they have. If they can't get out due to no transportation, and they have no where to go, then what?

I live in a hurricane area and have gone through a number of major ones.

To answer your question there are many who simply cannot get out of the way of a hurricane. If they have a car, they dont have the money to put gas in it. There are others who are to sick or immobile to travel. Coastline areas are often evacuated with people going to shelters in an effort to be safe. Of course, if you recall what happened at the Superdome in New Orleans after Katrina, it makes sense why some might rethink that option.

Overall, I am with you. A cat 1 hurricane, I laugh at. However, if a cat 4 is barreling down on me, I pick my ass up and go. Sadly, that isnt the case for all people.

Congratulations @ketflan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85