You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SIMPLE SURVIVAL SKILLS TAUGHT BY PAPA

in #survival8 years ago

I have caught and eaten a lot of crawdads, minnows, froglegs (not the whole frog), bullheads, and sunfish. We had crawdad pizza for my sister's high school graduation party.

It takes a long time to clean little fish. I have cleaned one after another of 5-gallon buckets of smelt from the Great Lakes - the old-timers said they used to just throw them into a washing machine, back in the day when they netted them by the pickup truck load. And I once cleaned over 150 sunfish less than 3 inches long. They were tasty, but it took a long time to scale them all! never overlook tiny fish! Froglegs are the quickest out of all that list to clean, I think -- don't even need a knife.

But I have never eaten a sculpin! That would be interesting!

Sort:  

Smelt are very little, and so many! Crawdads can take a while too! Thanks @haphazard-hstead!

I think Wisconsin has a lot of smelt, too. Maybe you little-peppers can ask your grandparents or other relatives in Wisconsin if they ever caught smelt. If they did, ask them how they caught them. It's quite a process!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55