Day 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #survival6 years ago

F0F060CC-CC44-4AC0-AE91-A5FEF3975324.jpeg

Day 1

6:45pm
The snow is falling and I bet the truck cab temperature has dropped 10 degrees in the past half hour. I can’t stopped thinking about home and how everyone is fairing tonight. I hope all is ok with them!
I just finished my supper which consisted of a can of cold beans and 4 jerky sticks. I feel ripped off though because the can of beans said “Beans & Pork” but there was no pork in the can! Maybe I should write a angry letter to the company demanding a refund. Lol
It’s been 4 hours and I haven’t seen anyone from my group so I am thinking they have decide to shelter in place and head out at first day light. Out of the ten of us , I was the third truck to leave so I know there is at leave 6 people between me and the lake.
How ironic that the ten of us would be out on a weekend camping trip. These plans were made almost a year ago now. I had never meet any of these guys till Friday night when I arrived at base camp. Sure I had talk to them online but we had never meet. That was the case with most of the guys in this group.
We spent the weekend building shelters and testing out our gear. I spent a lot of my time in the gravel pit that was near by, sighting in my new gun. Am pretty good at hitting the mark at 400m now so that is going to come in extremely handy I have a feeling now.
I have spent the last 3 plus hours preparing my gear for moving. I feel lucky as at least I have a deer carrier and sleds. Most guys just have sleds with them and the road for the most part is gravel. The ditches have snow in them but it’s too hard to walk in the ditches. However it is snowing now so I hope we get enough so their sleds work on the road.
I have too much gear with me and I will have to leave some behind. I will store it in the bush tomorrow morning in case I ever make it back here. I wonder if the people in the towns and cities know what just happened? I know what happened and i know what’s about to happen and I am extremely worried.
Not sure why I am writing in my journal now but I guess if something should happen to me people will know what kind of adventure I had and how I lived out my last few days. I will leave a note in my truck wishing my fellow campers safe journey to wherever they are heading. I KNOW WE ARE GOING TO NEED ALL THE LUCK WE CAN GET!!!!!!!!

Footnote: I tossed out all the electronics I had as they no longer work! I am keeping my Faraday boxed sealed for now in case there is another EMP. I don’t know what caused this so I don’t want to be in a hurry to open the box. Plus who knows if it even works.

Gear list
Kilometres to home: 250
Time of EMP: 2:45pm
What caused the event?: Unknown
Date: Sunday December 10, 2017
Current Temperature: -12 C
Food: - 6 packs of instant oat meal
- 10 cereal bars
- 1 box of jerky sticks
- 1/2 jar of instant coffee
- 4 cans of beans
- 2 lbs of white rice
- 1/2 lbs of uncooked beans
- 30 green tea bags
- 1 bag of salt & pepper chips
Water - 1 gallon
Weapons - SU16 - 4 Mags - 200 spare rds
- JRC 9mm - 6 Mags - 100 spare rds
- 10/22 - 4 Mags - 1000 spare rds
- compound bow - 20 arrows
- axe & hatchet
- 2 pocket knives, 1 machete and 2
large knives
Camping Gear: - 2 - 10x12 tarps (1-green,
1-white)
- (-30C sleeping bag)
- 2 welding blankets
- Assorted matches & lighters
- Pot and frying pan
- lots is miscellaneous gear
Faraday Box: - Flashlights, batteries, radio,
solar panel, charger & a few
miscellaneous items.

This is a daily fictional journal of events that started December 10, 2017. Enjoy and thanks from your support and comments. I plan on writing a entry everyday if possible.

@digestingreality

F45088B9-5569-4C5A-9947-6BD8D738A28F.png

Sort:  

I read Day 2 first, so I had to come back and find Day 1.
I'm hooked! Looking forward to more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65