Grass

in #survival7 years ago (edited)

Intro

Today I was doing some work in the garden when I had a epiphany, about grass.. now stay with me here.

download (1).jpg

The most overlooked OPSEC risk?

OPSEC stands for operational security and is something all preppers/survivalists consider. When you look at any popular apolypse films or series, everything is always neat and tidy. Think of the prison from the walking dead series, post shtf the grass wont be cut.

So how does this relate to long term survival?

It can disguise your building or potential resources.

Like This
images (1).jpg

All your lines of sight will be changed, which means you can be ambushed.

Who is hiding in there?
images (2).jpg

But if you cut the grass to maintain your line of sight, people will know where you are. You will be especially visible from the air and high vantage points.

Looks a bit obvious
1584898_4a3c83b8.jpg

I am surprised that no one has been talking about this simple issue. It changed my security considerations, as well as creating new risks (ambush, predators).

There are some positive aspects to this, for example it can provide wild grains if you are in a pinch. I think the key is exploiting it to your advantage, so I will be allowing overgrown grass to surround my garden. Although visible from the air, no one will see it at ground level.

Most Important Takeaway

Tracking, flattened grass makes it easier to track an animal (or person) but also allows you to be hunted.

high-grass-1504280_960_720.jpg

Survive and Thrive!

Minds: https://www.minds.com/AspiePrepper
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@aspieprepper
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/aspieprepper
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8WohhlmLNq2B5w3dV84Omw
Vidme: https://vid.me/AspiePrepper
Paypal: paypal.me/AspiePrepper

Sort:  

About grass being extra grain for food or feed...I let the wild sunflowers grow up wherever the want. When the flower heads are dead I snip off a few because all those tiny sunflower seed are free chicken feed. I'd eat them to in a pinch. When I pull out the plants I give the whole thing to the chickens. And let them pick off what they want.

Sunflowers can also be used for oil for cooking and even biofuel - such a useful plant. Everyone seems to overlook it :(

How would you extract the oil? I think the gadgets I've seen are too much trouble.

Well considering that sunflower oil is available on every shelf... I would say find out how the companies do it and create a smaller version. Pressing is probably the best way, although you b could grind the oil out with a DIY millstone that collects the oil.

I believe there are places in the US where you can get fined if you let the grass and weeds on your property grow to wildly...but I like an overgrown garden more than a manicured lawn

There is a beauty in wild unrestrained nature, I don't know why its not celebrated more.

Get prepared, everyone is slowly losing their right to free will. Force spraying is contributing to super weeds. The same thing is happening with microbes from forced vaccinations. Its never too late to get prepared and some preparedness is better than no preparation.

Absolutely, evidence of maintenance on property and an area around it, is a sure sign that someone is there, best to let it look like it's uninhabited externally and concentrate the upkeep on areas that are out of sight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60868.40
ETH 2377.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64