Surreal Art Contest Entry: Steemit through the surreal lens

in #surrealart7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the Surreal Art Contest organized by @sethlinson


This painting is inspired by the old surrealism joke:

Q: How many surrealists does it take to change a lightbulb?
A: Fish

Makes me laugh every time :)


Explanation:

It's relatively simple when you actually look at it :)

The overarching theme is Steemit. The whales supporting the minnows with their ideas.

  • Background = is digital data streaming, think Matrix or in this case, the blockchain
  • Whale = the whales on Steemit
  • Lobster = tribute to Salvador Dali
  • Bitcoin = most recognizable cryptocurrency
  • Fish as a person = the minnows on steemit
  • Lightbulb = the ideas and blog posts on steemit

I apologize that these may not be the best photos, but it's dark here and I fear I won't have time to upload photos in the morning using natural light before the competition ends :). Oh and the paint is actually still wet lol!


Steemit through the surreal lens
Acrylic on Canvas
16" x 20"


Fish.jpg

IMG_1748.JPG

IMG_2073.JPG

IMG_7257.JPG


Thank you for taking a peek inside my surreal mind :)

Cate .png


red wellies gif.gif

Original content by @redwellies


DQmXa3zVXJVYtacu5692MePMJTj35yZX7LKub8WUR4c91Mt.png


Sort:  

Nice! Very clever RedWellies!

Thanks! now we just wait and see :)

Clever!

Ha! Thank you :). Hopefully the judges think so too ;)

Great!! You are awesome @redwellies

Aw, thanks :). I hope the judges notice it!

Beautiful artwork! And I love the clear symbolism. That lobster looks like he's having a damn good time.

And...

Q: How many surrealists does it take to change a lightbulb?
A: Fish

This made me giggle too lol

Thank you! I appreciate you stopping by and I love that you like the joke... Always makes me laugh :)

Great job! I'd frame it on my wall :) I also enjoy symbolism.

Ha! Thanks! I may have to send it to you because whilst it was fun to paint, it's not something I'll be hanging and will probably at some point paint over it :). We're still waiting to hear the outcome of the competition...

That's Steemit History right there... you should hodl it! lol

Hi @redwellies! Your piece was just featured in my last showcase of contest entries. Thanks again for entering! Winners will be announced today.

@sethlinson thank you so much! Looking forward to seeing who the winners are from a fantastic group of entrants :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35