The Conqueror

in #surreal6 years ago (edited)

42518f5daf01f909cc74ec8a11a6c190-d5rosjh.png

About 6 years ago, after our bathroom was renovated, my husband told me that we need a new picture for the wall in front of the bathtub. Immediately I was thinking of the ocean, foreign lands, the deepest blue, which brought me to the idea of a turtle with an island on his back. This is not a very new idea, right, and many other artists made their own interpretation of this topic, but I haven´t done anything like that yet.

So, the first step: We need a turtle! For that, we visited a place called "Reptilium", which is a Zoo, but only for reptiles and insects. We went to the Reptilium in Landau, Palatinate, Germany and I found this friendly animal. (Couple of years we went there again to show the final result and found out that the turtle passed away...)


schildi.jpg

It was supposed to be the main character of the picture. After that I was browsing through my own stock and most of the pictures involved were taken from my very first travel with my husband: A trip to Montenegro including a short trip to Albania and Dubrovnik, Croatia.


kotor.jpg
Fortress of Kotor


insel.jpg
Little monastery on an island - photographed from the bus somewhere between Montenegro and Albania


partyboot.jpg
A party boat passing the city walls of Dubrovnik with @michaeldietrich.

This is not my very best photography, but if you have a certain picture in mind, other things count, such as perspective and how this images will fit into the result. There were many more pictures of mine involved, from different aquariums, clouds, birds...

When I was happy with the final result, we ordered a 1x2 meter laminated poster and now the big turtle is watching over us when we take a bath.


bad.jpg

Soon I´ll tell you how I transformed The Conqueror into an album artwork :)

Have a nice sunday!

Sort:  

You are amazing. I'm doing photomanipulation as well and it's nice to see other's people work. Do you know Erik Johansson? I have started doing this kind of photography because I fell in love with his work. Anyway keep going 😊

Thank you so much! Yes,I know him and I'm following him on Facebook for a while :)

This is amazing, You are true artist. WOW ! Colors and idea- beautifull

Thank you so much!

This is truly great piece of art! Looks fantastic! Congratulations!

Thanks for the kind words

My pleasure to watch such great works!

Wow beautiful work! Create to see what you used to make it. Like the idea too :)

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56582.63
ETH 2959.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25