Plan(e)tation of Stars

in #surreal6 years ago (edited)


star-plantation.png

The seed will grow,
the stars will light

Through our mind,
they shine so bright


This is my entry for the Visionary Art Contest, hostet by @elohprojects.

This picture is telling the story about a distant planet, inhabited by star farmers. They have a strange symbiosis with the star plants, helping them growing their fruits only by opening their astonished minds.

It took me few days from drawing a scribble, modelling the different sculptures, setting up and photographing the scene and finally putting it all together in photoshop, so I want to share some of these steps with you.

scribble.jpg


koepfe.jpg
Black modelling dough and wire skeletons


figur.jpg


stalagmiten.jpg
These stalagmites are created with a pretty cool modelling compound in granite look


farmer.jpg
Placing the star farmers.
For the starlight exposure I only used my mobile phones flashlight


Poem by @michaeldietrich

Thanks for reading!


More weirdness

Sort:  

I love the poem and the fact that you have these lovely little clay beings you can hold!! How wonderful, that this is a tactile peice, even without the third dimension this peice is lovely but imaginingnthisnin a corner of my home would make me happy

Thanks, I'm glad you like them :) I've got many of these creatures at home, unfortunately they're not living forever...

very nice dark work! haha :)

Thanks,I like it dark ;)

I just love it, at first I thought it was like a painting, but I'm impressed that they're sculptures, you look really good, go on, greetings! :D

Thanks, I'm glad that it was a surprise for you :)

Wie üblich: klasse! Und die Geschichte ist verlockend. Hast du sie dir ausgedacht, oder entlehnt? Und je nachdem; ist die Geschichte mit dem Bild erzählt, oder existiert sie auch in einer schriftlichen Form?
Ist auf alle Fälle wieder Kunst in Reinform!

Danke dir sehr! Zuerst hatte ich das Bild im Kopf, die Geschichte habe ich danach hineininterpretiert...also gibt es leider (bisher!) nicht mehr dazu. Allerdings habe ich vor, aus dem Thema eine Serie zu machen, hab noch ein paar Bilder im Kopf ;)

Das ist ja cool! Dann bin ich gespannt wie die Serie wird!

beautiful concept @patschwork, it deserve a win :)

Thank you. But I guess it´s going to be tough! So many awesome entries in the contest...

Wow that black modelling dough figure is haunting. Nice work.

Weird! I like it very much =)

So I guess, we're both weirdos, right? Thank you so much!

Wonderful as always and it's great to see how you put it all together. Good luck with the competition.

Great work!! And all the process is so creative! Well done! :)

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60046.04
ETH 2997.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71